Melody's Picks

Lightfall: The Girl & the Galdurian Cover Image
By Tim Probert, Tim Probert (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062990464
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: HarperAlley - September 1st, 2020

New York Times bestselling author Kazu Kibuishi says of Lightfall: “Beautifully drawn. Tim Probert has created a world readers will want to visit.”


Axiom's End: A Novel (Noumena #1) Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250256737
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: St. Martin's Press - July 21st, 2020

THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

The alternate history first contact adventure Axiom's End is an extraordinary debut from Hugo finalist and video essayist Lindsay Ellis.


Truth is a human right.


Ace: What Asexuality Reveals About Desire, Society, and the Meaning of Sex Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780807013793
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Beacon Press - September 15th, 2020

An engaging exploration of what it means to be asexual in a world that’s obsessed with sexual attraction, and what the ace perspective can teach all of us about desire and identity.


Slaughterhouse-Five: The Graphic Novel Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781684156252
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Archaia - September 15th, 2020

The first-ever graphic novel adaptation of Kurt Vonnegut’s Slaughterhouse-Five, an American classic, is one of the world’s great anti-war books. 

An American classic and one of the world’s seminal antiwar books, Kurt Vonnegut’s Slaughterhouse-Five is faithfully presented in graphic novel form for the first time from Eisner Award-winning writer Ryan North (How to


This Old Dog Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781646140107
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Levine Querido - September 1st, 2020

When so much of the world is new, you want to go slowly. to stop and enjoy everything; hills to roll down, perfect-sized rocks, trees that seem to whisper their thoughts. It's the same when you're much, much older, and every time 'round the seasons seems precious. Yet the folks in the middle (we know who we are) are always rushing, rushing, rushing.


Sister Outsider: Essays and Speeches (Penguin Vitae) Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780143134442
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Penguin Classics - February 25th, 2020

"Sister Outsider's teachings, by one of our most revered elder stateswomen, should be read by everyone." -Essence

Presenting the essential writings of black lesbian poet and feminist writer Audre Lorde, Sister Outsider celebrates an influential voice in twentieth-century literature, with a foreword by Mahogany L. Browne.


The House in the Cerulean Sea Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250217288
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Tor Books - March 17th, 2020

Lambda Literary Award-winning author TJ Klune’s bestselling, breakout contemporary fantasy

A USA Today Bestseller!
An Indie Next Pick!
One of Publishers Weekly's "Most Anticipated Books of Spring 2020"
One of Book Riot’s “20 Must-Read Feel-Good Fantasies”


The Runaway Princess Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780593118405
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Random House Graphic - January 21st, 2020

This princess can't resist the lure of adventure, but her parents aren't quite on board in this fantastical graphic novel perfect for fans of Princess in Black and Phoebe and Her Unicorn!

Robin? Robin? Robin?! Where are you?

She couldn't have gone far. . . .

Princesses don't run away to have their own adventures. Right?


The Crying Book Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781948226448
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Catapult - November 5th, 2019

This bestselling "lyrical, moving book: part essay, part memoir, part surprising cultural study" is an examination of why we cry, how we cry, and what it means to cry from a woman on the cusp of motherhood confronting her own depression (The New York Times Book Review).


The Collected Schizophrenias: Essays Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781555978273
Availability: Not currently on our shelves, but available in 1-3 days.
Published: Graywolf Press - February 5th, 2019

Powerful, affecting essays on mental illness, winner of the Graywolf Press Nonfiction Prize and a Whiting Award


Mostly Dead Things Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781947793835
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Tin House Books - April 21st, 2020

The celebrated New York Times Bestseller

A Best Book of the Year pick at the New York TimesNPRThe New YorkerTIMEWashington PostOprahmag.comThrillistShelf Awareness, Good Housekeeping and more.


Severance: A Novel Cover Image
By Ling Ma
$17.00
ISBN: 9781250214997
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Picador - May 7th, 2019

Maybe it’s the end of the world, but not for Candace Chen, a millennial, first-generation American and office drone meandering her way into adulthood in Ling Ma’s offbeat, wryly funny, apocalyptic satire, Severance.

"A stunning, audacious book with a fresh take on both office politics and what the apocalypse might bring." Michael Schaub, NPR.org


The Largesse of the Sea Maiden: Stories Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780812988659
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Random House Trade Paperbacks - January 8th, 2019

Twenty-five years after Jesus’ Son, a haunting new collection of short stories on mortality and transcendence, from National Book Award winner and two-time Pulitzer Prize finalist Denis Johnson


What to Do When I'm Gone: A Mother's Wisdom to Her Daughter Cover Image
By Suzy Hopkins, Hallie Bateman (Illustrator)
$22.00
ISBN: 9781632869685
Availability: Not currently on our shelves, but available in 1-3 days.
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - April 3rd, 2018

A mother's advice to her daughter--a guide to daily living, both practical and sublime--with full-color illustrations throughout.


The Dark Dark: Stories Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780374282134
Availability: Not currently on our shelves, but available in 1-3 days.
Published: FSG Originals - July 18th, 2017

A Best Book of the Year: NPR, Vogue, The Huffington Post, The Chicago Review of Books, The National Post, Electric Literature, Kirkus

“Wields such a subtle and alien power . . . Wonderfully spooky.” —Jia Tolentino, The New Yorker


Station Eleven Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780804172448
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Vintage - June 2nd, 2015

An audacious, darkly glittering novel set in the eerie days of civilization’s collapse, Station Eleven tells the spellbinding story of a Hollywood star, his would-be savior, and a nomadic group of actors roaming the scattered outposts of the Great Lakes region, risking everything for art and humanity. 

A National Book Award Finalist


Page Term :