Melody's Picks

Staff Pick Badge
Our Wives Under the Sea: A Novel By Julia Armfield Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250229892
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Flatiron Books - July 12th, 2022

When Leah returns from her deep sea mission, her wife Miri senses something is not quite right. Shockingly and achingly poetic, this is a story about queer love, grief, horror and what life lurks in the hadal zone.


What Moves the Dead By T. Kingfisher Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250830753
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Tor Nightfire - July 12th, 2022

An Instant USA Today & Indie Bestseller
A Barnes & Noble Book of the Year Finalist
A Goodreads Best Horror Choice Award Nominee


Staff Pick Badge
Squad By Maggie Tokuda-Hall, Lisa Sterle (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Maggie Tokuda-Hall, Lisa Sterle (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9780062943149
Availability: Not currently on our shelves, but available to order (usually within a few days)
Published: Greenwillow Books - October 5th, 2021

A sapphic werewolf graphic novel about a group of girls literally devouring toxic men. This is such a fun read with plenty of thrills that is perfect for spooky season.


Staff Pick Badge
After Dark with Roxie Clark By Brooke Lauren Davis Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781547606146
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Bloomsbury YA - October 4th, 2022

Although it's not Davis' initial foray into suspense, this is truly a marvelous look into an unexpected murder filled with twists and turns. The stories of the cursed women in the family throughout were otherworldly -- adding elements to the mysterious death of Colin Riley.


Staff Pick Badge
You Made a Fool of Death with Your Beauty: A Novel By Akwaeke Emezi Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781982188702
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Atria Books - May 24th, 2022

This book, like grief is messy. It's a romance, but it's also about loss.


The Girls Who Went Away: The Hidden History of Women Who Surrendered Children for Adoption in the Decades  Before Roe v. Wade By Ann Fessler Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780143038979
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Penguin Books - June 26th, 2007

The astonishing untold history of the million and a half women who surrendered children for adoption due to enormous family and social pressure in the decades before Roe v. Wade.

“It would take a heart of stone not to be moved by the oral histories of these women and by the courage and candor with which they express themselves.” —The Washington Post


Torn Apart: How the Child Welfare System Destroys Black Families--and How Abolition Can Build a Safer World By Dorothy Roberts Cover Image
$32.00
ISBN: 9781541675445
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Basic Books - April 5th, 2022

An award-winning scholar exposes the foundational racism of the child welfare system and calls for radical change 
 
Many believe the child welfare system protects children from abuse. But as Torn Apart uncovers, this system is designed to punish Black families.


Staff Pick Badge
Somebody's Daughter: A Memoir By Ashley C. Ford Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250203229
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Flatiron Books: An Oprah Book - May 3rd, 2022

How do you come to terms with your childhood? How do you make sense of what you go through and ultimately see your self-worth? A powerful memoir of body, mind, family and healing.


Staff Pick Badge
Penny By Karl Stevens Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781452183053
Availability: Not currently in stock, but we are happy to backorder and notify you when it arrives.
Published: Chronicle Books - May 4th, 2021

Penny was a kitten on the street born from love but with nothing looking out for her. Until the kidnapping happened. Now she's a pampered house cat with all the time in the universe for deep, thought provoking inner dialogue about humans, time and space. Get cozy and take your time with this beautifully illustrated graphic memoir.


Staff Pick Badge
Plutona By Jeff Lemire, Emi Lenox, Emi Lenox (Artist) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781632156013
Availability: The book is not currently in stock at our stores. Please call us for price and availability.
Published: Image Comics - August 2nd, 2016

Five teens in the suburbs discover the body of a beloved missing superhero. Each character struggles with their own internal issues. So when they see their community icon fall to vulnerability, it shakes them and they each handle it in their own way. This story is proof that our heroes are never truly what we make them out to be.


Staff Pick Badge
Outlawed By Anna North Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781635578249
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - February 15th, 2022

A modern western set in a world where women can be hung as witches for being barren. One woman's search for the truth cleverly works her way into a gang, each member with their own stories to uncover. An unforgettable tale about a wife, a widow, a doctor, an outlaw, a robber and a killer exiled to create a new way of life.


Staff Pick Badge
The Girl from the Sea: A Graphic Novel By Molly Knox Ostertag Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781338540574
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Graphix - June 1st, 2021

A Sapphic coming of age story of a young girl named Morgan who falls for a mythological selkie named Keltie in Nova Scotia. This beautifully detailed graphic novel explores identity, summer love, friendship and magic. Perfect for fans of The Magic Fish and Heartstopper.


Staff Pick Badge
The Guest List: A Novel By Lucy Foley Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062868947
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - August 3rd, 2021

This fast paced thriller takes place over two days during a wedding on a remote isle in Ireland. With six suspects and one body, Lucy Foley will have you guessing up until the very end and lets you decide if this was a murder uncalled for.


Staff Pick Badge
Everything I Never Told You: A Novel By Celeste Ng Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143127550
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Penguin Books - May 12th, 2015

"Lydia is dead. But they don't know this yet." A Deeply intense family drama inspecting all of Lydia's family members' lives and what led to the event that caused their worlds to unravel. This is a tragic book, but not a maudlin one, and the writing is poetically lyrical.


Staff Pick Badge
The Grace Year: A Novel By Kim Liggett Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9781250145451
Availability: Not currently on our shelves, but available to order (usually within a few days)
Published: Wednesday Books - October 27th, 2020

This book about a woman losing her magic feels like a fever dream as she fights for survival admist her companions. Fast paced and spine-chilling, this dark tale will have you intrigued until the very last page.


Staff Pick Badge
The Magic Fish: (A Graphic Novel) By Trung Le Nguyen Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781984851598
Availability: Not currently on our shelves, but available to order (usually within a few days)
Published: Random House Graphic - October 13th, 2020

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR by New York Public Library • Kirkus Reviews • Booklist • Publishers Weekly


Lightfall: The Girl & the Galdurian By Tim Probert, Tim Probert (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Tim Probert, Tim Probert (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062990464
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: HarperAlley - September 1st, 2020

New York Times bestselling author Kazu Kibuishi says of Lightfall: “Beautifully drawn. Tim Probert has created a world readers will want to visit.”


Hyperion (Hyperion Cantos #1) By Dan Simmons Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780399178610
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Del Rey - August 15th, 2017

A stunning tour de force filled with transcendent awe and wonder, Hyperion is a masterwork of science fiction that resonates with excitement and invention, the first volume in a remarkable epic by the multiple-award-winning author of The Hollow Man.


The Collected Schizophrenias: Essays By Esmé Weijun Wang Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781555978273
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Graywolf Press - February 5th, 2019

Powerful, affecting essays on mental illness, winner of the Graywolf Press Nonfiction Prize and a Whiting Award


The Largesse of the Sea Maiden: Stories By Denis Johnson Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780812988659
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Random House Trade Paperbacks - January 8th, 2019

Twenty-five years after Jesus’ Son, a haunting new collection of short stories on mortality and transcendence, from National Book Award winner and two-time Pulitzer Prize finalist Denis Johnson


Station Eleven By Emily St. John Mandel Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780804172448
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Vintage - June 2nd, 2015

NATIONAL BESTSELLER • NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FINALIST • A PEN/FAULKNER AWARD FINALIST • Set in the eerie days of civilization’s collapse—the spellbinding story of a Hollywood star, his would-be savior, and a nomadic group of actors roaming the scattered outposts of the Great Lakes region, risking everything for art and humanity.


Page Term :