Melody's Picks

Staff Pick Badge
Alone in Space: A Collection Cover Image
$32.95
ISBN: 9781910395585
Availability: Not currently on our shelves, but available to order (usually within a few days)
Published: Avery Hill Publishing - July 6th, 2021

In a style inspired by Winsor McCay and Hayao Miyazaki, this collection showcases a huge talent. The main story is 'The End of Summer' about a family living in a castle in an alternate world with years' long seasons. It's rich with subtle family conflict, dysfunction and love. Other stories focus on various stages of relationships. As an introduction to the work of Tillie Walden's early years (age 16 to early 20s) this collection is perfect for older teens and adults.


Staff Pick Badge
Somebody's Daughter: A Memoir Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250305978
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Flatiron Books: An Oprah Book - June 1st, 2021

How do you come to terms with your childhood? How do you make sense of what you go through and ultimately see your self-worth? A powerful memoir of body, mind, family and healing.


Staff Pick Badge
Penny Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781452183053
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Chronicle Books - May 4th, 2021

Penny was a kitten on the street born from love but with nothing looking out for her. Until the kidnapping happened. Now she's a pampered house cat with all the time in the universe for deep, thought provoking inner dialogue about humans, time and space. Get cozy and take your time with this beautifully illustrated graphic memoir.


Staff Pick Badge
Plutona Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781632156013
Availability: The book is not currently in stock at our stores. Please call us for price and availability.
Published: Image Comics - July 26th, 2016

Five teens in the suburbs discover the body of a beloved missing superhero. Each character struggles with their own internal issues. So when they see their community icon fall to vulnerability, it shakes them and they each handle it in their own way. This story is proof that our heroes are never truly what we make them out to be.


Staff Pick Badge
Outlawed Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781635575422
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - January 5th, 2021

A modern western set in a world where women can be hung as witches for being barren. One woman's search for the truth cleverly works her way into a gang, each member with their own stories to uncover. An unforgettable tale about a wife, a widow, a doctor, an outlaw, a robber and a killer exiled to create a new way of life.


Staff Pick Badge
The Girl from the Sea Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781338540574
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Graphix - June 1st, 2021

A Sapphic coming of age story of a young girl named Morgan who falls for a mythological selkie named Keltie in Nova Scotia. This beautifully detailed graphic novel explores identity, summer love, friendship and magic. Perfect for fans of The Magic Fish and Heartstopper.


Staff Pick Badge
The Guest List: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062868930
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: William Morrow - June 2nd, 2020

This fast paced thriller takes place over two days during a wedding on a remote isle in Ireland. With six suspects and one body, Lucy Foley will have you guessing up until the very end and lets you decide if this was a murder uncalled for.


Staff Pick Badge
Everything I Never Told You: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143127550
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Penguin Books - May 12th, 2015

"Lydia is dead. But they don't know this yet." A Deeply intense family drama inspecting all of Lydia's family members' lives and what led to the event that caused their worlds to unravel. This is a tragic book, but not a maudlin one, and the writing is poetically lyrical.


Staff Pick Badge
The Grace Year: A Novel Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781250145451
Availability: Not currently on our shelves, but available to order (usually within a few days)
Published: Wednesday Books - October 27th, 2020

This book about a woman losing her magic feels like a fever dream as she fights for survival admist her companions. Fast paced and spine-chilling, this dark tale will have you intrigued until the very last page.


Staff Pick Badge
All Girls: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250270894
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: St. Martin's Press - February 16th, 2021

A coming of age story that takes place is 1995 at a prestigious New England boarding school -- one thats administration wants to silence the voices of the girls who have been sexually assaulted. An important interconnected story with nine distinct characters P.O.V. unraveling the mystery.


Floriography: An Illustrated Guide to the Victorian Language of Flowers Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781524858148
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Andrews McMeel Publishing - September 15th, 2020

A charming, gorgeously illustrated botanical encyclopedia for your favorite romantic, local witch, bride-to-be, or green-thumbed friend.

Floriography is a full-color guide to the historical uses and secret meanings behind an impressive array of flowers and herbs.


Tales from the Hinterland (The Hazel Wood) Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250302724
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Flatiron Books - January 12th, 2021

A gorgeously illustrated collection of twelve “lush and deliciously sinister fairy tales” (Kelly Link) by the New York Times bestselling author of The Hazel Wood and The Night Country!

Before The Hazel Wood, there was Althea Proserpine’s Tales from the Hinterland...


The Magic Fish: (A Graphic Novel) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781984851598
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Random House Graphic - October 13th, 2020

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR by the New York Public Library • Kirkus Reviews • Booklist • Publishers Weekly


Lightfall: The Girl & the Galdurian Cover Image
By Tim Probert, Tim Probert (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062990464
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: HarperAlley - September 1st, 2020

New York Times bestselling author Kazu Kibuishi says of Lightfall: “Beautifully drawn. Tim Probert has created a world readers will want to visit.”


Hyperion (Hyperion Cantos #1) Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780399178610
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Del Rey - August 15th, 2017

A stunning tour de force filled with transcendent awe and wonder, Hyperion is a masterwork of science fiction that resonates with excitement and invention, the first volume in a remarkable epic by the multiple-award-winning author of The Hollow Man.


The Crying Book Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781948226448
Availability: Not currently on our shelves, but available to order (usually within a few days)
Published: Catapult - November 5th, 2019

This bestselling lyrical, moving book: part essay, part memoir, part surprising cultural study is an examination of why we cry, how we cry, and what it means to cry from a woman on the cusp of motherhood confronting her own depression (The New York Times Book Review).


The Collected Schizophrenias: Essays Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781555978273
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Graywolf Press - February 5th, 2019

Powerful, affecting essays on mental illness, winner of the Graywolf Press Nonfiction Prize and a Whiting Award


Ace: What Asexuality Reveals About Desire, Society, and the Meaning of Sex Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780807013793
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Beacon Press - September 15th, 2020

An engaging exploration of what it means to be asexual in a world that’s obsessed with sexual attraction, and what the ace perspective can teach all of us about desire and identity.


The Largesse of the Sea Maiden: Stories Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780812988659
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Random House Trade Paperbacks - January 8th, 2019

Twenty-five years after Jesus’ Son, a haunting new collection of short stories on mortality and transcendence, from National Book Award winner and two-time Pulitzer Prize finalist Denis Johnson


What to Do When I'm Gone: A Mother's Wisdom to Her Daughter Cover Image
By Suzy Hopkins, Hallie Bateman (Illustrator)
$22.00
ISBN: 9781632869685
Availability: Not currently on our shelves, but available to order (usually within a few days)
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - April 3rd, 2018

A mother's advice to her daughter--a guide to daily living, both practical and sublime--with full-color illustrations throughout.


The Dark Dark: Stories Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780374282134
Availability: Not currently on our shelves, but available to order (usually within a few days)
Published: FSG Originals - July 18th, 2017

A Best Book of the Year: NPR, Vogue, The Huffington Post, The Chicago Review of Books, The National Post, Electric Literature, Kirkus

“Wields such a subtle and alien power . . . Wonderfully spooky.” —Jia Tolentino, The New Yorker


Station Eleven Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780804172448
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Vintage - June 2nd, 2015

NATIONAL BESTSELLER An audacious, darkly glittering novel set in the eerie days of civilization’s collapse—the spellbinding story of a Hollywood star, his would-be savior, and a nomadic group of actors roaming the scattered outposts of the Great Lakes region, risking everything for art and humanity. Soon to be a Max Original Limited


Page Term :