Mark's Picks

Staff Pick Badge
The Silk Road: A Novel Cover Image
$24.00
ISBN: 9781555978297
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Graywolf Press - March 5th, 2019

Davis explores the nuance and texture of the familial concept (both immediate and human) with the commandeering force of her incredible imagination. There's a plot in here somewhere, but it kind of stands aside while Davis does her thing—which is as unique and dazzling a thing you're likely to find in contemporary fiction.


Staff Pick Badge
Negrophobia: An Urban Parable Cover Image
By Darius James, Amy Abugo Ongiri (Introduction by), Darius James (Preface by)
$14.95
ISBN: 9781681373294
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: NYRB Classics - February 19th, 2019

Like any satire worth its salt, this book confronts, offends, and horrifies its reader with twisted visions of what are actually cold hard facts. America's racist past, present, and future collide in this cinematic trip through a Boschian hellscape crafted from our own sickening iconography.


Staff Pick Badge
Say Nothing: A True Story of Murder and Memory in Northern Ireland Cover Image
$28.95
ISBN: 9780385521314
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Doubleday - February 26th, 2019

The man who is the "Michael' in "Carmichael's" told me this one was good and man is he right! Nothing about this story is easy on the soul, but Keefe's masterful account of "The Troubles" is worth every minute spent between the first and last pages of this essential book, which is the best one I've read so far in 2019.


Staff Pick Badge
SprawlBall: A Visual Tour of the New Era of the NBA Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9781328767516
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt - April 30th, 2019

Goldsberry is one of the smartest guys talking NBA hoops, and this book ties together all of what makes his writing great: the data, the stats, the trademark graphics—and just the right amount of acid wit. He explains how the NBA arrived at the three-chucking, five-out, wide-open state that it's in right now, and will make you a smarter fan, page after vivid page.


Staff Pick Badge
West: A Novel Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9781501179358
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Scribner - April 2nd, 2019

I loved every page of this short but powerful novel of the American frontier. It explores the thrill and danger in the pursuit of spiritual escape, and the dark consequences that ripple outward from one man's immovable curiosity.


Staff Pick Badge
Kill All Normies: Online Culture Wars from 4chan and Tumblr to Trump and the Alt-Right Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781785355431
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Zero Books - June 30th, 2017

If you find yourself looking around the world these days wondering how the hell we got to this strange and unsettling place, then this book just might be for you. Even if some of our current reality's characters can be grotesque and cruel, it can help smooth things out (just a little) to read about what the hell makes these goons tick.


Staff Pick Badge
Infinite Resignation: On Pessimism Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781912248193
Availability: Not currently on our shelves, but available in 1-3 days.
Published: Repeater - July 17th, 2018

If you aren't familiar with Thacker or his amazing "Horror of Philosophy" trilogy, this is a perfect introduction. It distills much of pessimism through the lens of the everyday, and brings a tinge of humor to the often bleak corridors of modern existence.


Staff Pick Badge
Knots: Stories Cover Image
By Gunnhild Øyehaug, Kari Dickson (Translated by)
$16.00
ISBN: 9781250182449
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Picador - July 10th, 2018

A fantastic collection of short stories written the way they oughta be: brief, powerful, and engaging. That, and what I assume is a very Norwegian sense of humor. Fans of Lydia Davis and Joy Williams, this book is for you!


Staff Pick Badge
Shadowbahn Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780735212022
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Blue Rider Press - February 13th, 2018

If the idea of a novel about the Twin Towers suddenly reappearing intact in the middle of the Badlands doesn't scare you off, then let me coax you along a little further. The concept is high, yes, but this blend of mixtape liner notes, speculative fiction, and family history is terrifically written. Somehow familiar and far-out at the same time, SHADOWBAHN is strangely addictive.


Staff Pick Badge
Universal Harvester: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781250159991
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Picador - February 6th, 2018

This is a deep, dark story about the consumptive power of loss and grief, and the fissures they crack open in our lives. Haunting images and grave suggestions are scattered throughout by a steely, mysterious narrator that refuses to let you set the book down.


Staff Pick Badge
Cannibals in Love: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780374536633
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: FSG Originals - September 20th, 2016

Sometimes a novel isn't really a novel, but rare is the book that walks that fine line successfully. Mike Roberts has done so here, with a smooth, conversational style that belies the depth of his intentions. A great and refreshing read, like they all should be.


Staff Pick Badge
Tomas Young's War Cover Image
By Mark Wilkerson, Phil Donahue (Foreword by)
$17.95
ISBN: 9781608466504
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Haymarket Books - April 26th, 2016

Without a veteran in your life, the cost of war may sometimes slip from mind. Books like this, and men like Tomas Young, ensure that as a nation and a society, we never disregard the value of human life or forget the simple truth of peace.


Staff Pick Badge
The Sellout: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781250083258
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Picador - March 1st, 2016

After seven long years, one of my all-time favorite authors returns with another novel you just can't put down. Taking dead aim at those who would dare use a term like "post-racial", THE SELLOUT is as funny, smart, and tuned-in as Beatty has ever been.


Staff Pick Badge
Oreo Cover Image
By Fran Ross, Danzy Senna (Introduction by), Harryette Mullen (Afterword by)
$14.95
ISBN: 9780811223225
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: New Directions Publishing Corporation - July 7th, 2015

A loose retelling of the tale of Theseus, OREO is an overlooked classic now back in print after 40 years. It is a wickedly funny look at race, culture, and betweenness—even if it's sometimes hard to tell what truly lay on either side.


Staff Pick Badge
The Throne of the Third Heaven of the Nations Millennium General Assembly: Poems Collected and New Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780060926960
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Harper Perennial - April 12th, 1996

Imbued with the wild spirit of his short but powerful classic JESUS' SON, but polished with the literary gold of his epic masterpiece TREE OF SMOKE, Denis Johnson's poetry is every bit as good as his prose. I love to loan this collection out, never get it back, and buy it all over again.


Page Term :