Jonathan's Picks

I love being transported by fiction to another time, place, life, culture, or reality other than my own.

Pre-Order Now Badge
Blue Ruin: A novel By Hari Kunzru Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593801376
Availability: Coming Soon! Pre-Order this now and we will contact you on publication date!
Published: Knopf - May 14th, 2024

One of our sharpest observers of contemporary Euro-American culture takes readers on a journey through the Fine Art ecosystem from school, friendships and ambition to money, class and careers, weaving in plenty of complex relationships and subtle drama along the way. 


Staff Pick Badge
The Morningside: A Novel By Téa Obreht  Cover Image
$29.00
ISBN: 9781984855503
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Random House - March 19th, 2024

Téa Obreht ingeniously fuses a coming-of-age mystery tale (a lá Jonathan Safran Foer's Extremely Loud And Incredibly Close) with a life after semi-apocalypse story (in the neighborhood with Emily St. John Mandel's Station Eleven), then mixes in her special spice blend of magical folklore (remember The Tiger's Wife?) to create a mesmerizing, immensely pleasurable, and totally genre defiant novel.


Staff Pick Badge
Island Rule: Stories By Katie M. Flynn Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781982122201
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Gallery/Scout Press - March 5th, 2024

Flynn's interconnected speculative stories present a world on the verge of falling apart, or transforming into something new. At turns dreamlike, nightmarish, tech dystopian, and eco-apocalyptic, this will hit for fans of Margaret Atwood and Karen Russell.


Staff Pick Badge
Parasol Against the Axe: A Novel By Helen Oyeyemi Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593192368
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Riverhead Books - March 5th, 2024

Another absolutely fascinating twist from the magnificently unpredictable mind of Helen Oyeyemi. An anthropomorphic city, a metamorphic text, the joys and sorrows of friendship and history, all swirl in this literary magic trick for lovers of Calvino and Murakami.


Staff Pick Badge
Mary Tyler MooreHawk By Dave Baker Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9781603095365
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Top Shelf Productions - February 13th, 2024

Like some nutballz lovechild of The Venture Brothers and House Of Leaves, Dave Baker's meta-comic-book/novel hops dimensions and genres with head-spinning insouciance, twisting the titular scifi shero's zany adventures into a satirical braid alongside a darker dystopian story.


Staff Pick Badge
King Nyx: A Novel By Kirsten Bakis Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781324093534
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Liveright - February 27th, 2024

With the historical gothic King Nyx, Kirsten Bakis adroitly knits together shadowy atmospheres, strange mysteries, rich emotions, and a sharp feminist lens. Fans of Lauren Groff (Monsters of Templeton) and Sarah Perry (The Essex Serpent) should be in heaven.


Staff Pick Badge
Blue Lard By Vladimir Sorokin, Max Lawton (Translated by), Max Lawton (Afterword by) Cover Image
By Vladimir Sorokin, Max Lawton (Translated by), Max Lawton (Afterword by)
$18.95
ISBN: 9781681378183
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: NYRB Classics - February 27th, 2024

Sorokin is a genius: no hyperbole. In Blue Lard he uses the fantastic (cloning, time travel) and bizarre (a wizard Hitler!) to deconstruct history and Russian culture with brutal intelligence and wry humor. Maybe something like Nabokov and William S. Burroughs rewriting each other?


Staff Pick Badge
Convergence Problems By Wole Talabi Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780756418830
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: DAW - February 13th, 2024

Convergence Problems is just the kind of wide ranging, mind expanding, feast of ideas that hardcore SF&F fans are always ready for. Talabi's stories are classical in form yet bleeding edge in function, something like an Afrocentric cousin to Ted Chiang. 


Staff Pick Badge
Plastic: A Novel By Scott Guild Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593316764
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Pantheon - February 13th, 2024

This madly inventive, crazy entertaining American satire drops synthetic Barbie people into a Saunders / Vonnegut style pop-apocalyptic wierdtopia with a meta-narrative cherry on top. Terrifying, hilarious, endlessly surprising, and filled with subtle heart and soul at the center.  And it's a musical?!


Staff Pick Badge
The Great Beyond By Léa Murawiec, Aleshia Jensen (Translated by) Cover Image
By Léa Murawiec, Aleshia Jensen (Translated by)
$32.95
ISBN: 9781770466777
Availability: Not currently on our shelves, but available to order (usually within a few days)
Published: Drawn and Quarterly - October 10th, 2023

An absurdist future of social media self promotion with existential stakes  is presented through dynamic cartooning that amps up the humor of this dire world. Archie meets Idiocracy?


Staff Pick Badge
Exordia By Seth Dickinson Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9781250233011
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Tordotcom - January 23rd, 2024

After proving himself extremely adept at thorny Epic Fantasy with the Baru Cormorant series, Seth Dickinson takes on mind-expanding Science Fiction with equal aplomb in Exordia. He constructs a devilishly complex and suspenseful narrative exploring alien contact and moral philosophy during apocalyptic circumstances. This laser-sharp novel lies somewhere it's own unique zone between Tade Thompson's Rosewater, Jeff Vandermeer's Annihilation, and Cixin Liu's Three-Body Problem.


Staff Pick Badge
Chain Gang All Stars: A Novel By Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780593469316
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Vintage - January 23rd, 2024

My personal pick for 2023 book of the year! Chain Gang All Stars is a blistering, bruising, blues rhapsody of a novel decrying the prison industrial complex like Ralph Ellison and George Orwell fighting in a barbed-wire-cage death match. Adjei-Brenyah's tightrope balance of humanity and spectacle seduces, interrogates, excoriates, and leaves its mark on the soul. File alongside Paul Beatty, Colson Whitehead, George Saunders, and Toni Morrison.


Staff Pick Badge
Same Bed Different Dreams: A Novel By Ed Park Cover Image
By Ed Park
$30.00
ISBN: 9780812998979
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Random House - November 7th, 2023

What a trip! This one truly belongs on the shelf next to Thomas Pynchon's Gravity's Rainbow, Don Delillo's Underworld, and Neal Stephenson's Baroque Cycle. A mutated, pop-culture addled alternate history of the Korea/U.S. cultural axis is the backdrop for a rollicking mystery-adventure where the weirdness of people is central to the broken system of the world. Wow.


Staff Pick Badge
Pay as You Go By Eskor David Johnson Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781952119743
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: McSweeney's - October 24th, 2023

This explosive debut novel from Trinidadian writer David Eskor Johnson turns the BIG CITY into a vaudevillian microcosm of our world. Like Confederacy of Dunces and Ellison's Invisible Man before it, Pay As You Go layers surreal farce over a faultless bedrock of brilliant social observation, and places a fascinatingly flawed protagonist amidst the poetic chaos. Hilarious and smart-as-hell.


Staff Pick Badge
Malarkoi: Cities of the Weft, Book 2 By Alex Pheby Cover Image
$30.99
ISBN: 9781250817266
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Tor Books - October 24th, 2023

With Malarkoi, Alex Pheby continues his Cities of the Weft trilogy, and continues to breathe new life into a tradition of dark, baroque English fantasy one can trace from Machen & Dunsany through Mervyn Peake's Gormenghast and on to Neil Gaiman and China Mieville's work.  Wild, strange world building, philosophically fascinating conflicts, and the most psychologically complex dog you'll have ever read, make this series a potential classic.


Staff Pick Badge
Jonathan Abernathy You Are Kind: A Novel By Molly McGhee Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781662602115
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Astra House - October 17th, 2023

Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind meets Confederacy of Dunces in this bad dream satire of sci-fi capitalism gone wrong. Like a more warmhearted, and way funnier, Kafka!


Staff Pick Badge
Monica By Daniel Clowes Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781683968825
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Fantagraphics - October 3rd, 2023

Clowes masterfully fuses multiple pulp genres into a picaresque mystery-cum-character-study that synthesizes the surreal underbelly of American culture with intimate human psychology to create something precise, prismatic, even psychedelic.


Staff Pick Badge
Brooklyn Crime Novel: A Novel By Jonathan Lethem Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780062938824
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Ecco - October 3rd, 2023

The ever inventive Jonathan Lethem revisits Brooklyn and atomizes typical "crime novel" form, using it as but one note in a symphony: time and memory, race and class, capitalism and power, family and love; all play their parts in what feels like a choral novel of social history, a neighborhood telling you the story of itself.


Page Term :