Gray's Picks

Gray is a college undergrad working their way through a degree in Art History. They read across several genres but gravitate towards young adult, middle grade graphic novels, magic realism, cozy fantasy, poetry, and anything queer. For more recommendations and other bookish musings from Gray, check out their bookstagram: @my.rainbow.bookshelf 

Staff Pick Badge
Cemetery Boys By Aiden Thomas Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250250469
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Swoon Reads - September 1st, 2020

Yadriel summoned a ghost. Now he can't get rid of him. Full of magic, mystery, and a whole lot of heart, this Day of the Dead inspired fantasy is the perfect fall read!


Staff Pick Badge
Summer Sons By Lee Mandelo Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250790293
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Tordotcom - August 16th, 2022

From Louisville native Lee Mandelo comes a haunting tale of grief, a poignant commentary on toxic masculinity and academic institutions, and a grisly mystery that will keep you guessing until the very end. In the aftermath of his best friend's apparent suicide, Andrew is left with a clawing ache in his chest, a sinister inheritance, a group of hot stupid strangers, and a determination to find out the hideous truth of his friend's death, even if it means uncovering some of his and Eddie's darkest secrets. With visceral characters and lyrical writing evocative of a sweltering summer's heat, this modern southern gothic ghost story will leave you gasping for breath and have its bloody grip on you long after you read the last page.


Staff Pick Badge
Most Ardently: A Pride & Prejudice Remix (Remixed Classics #9) By Gabe Cole Novoa Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250869807
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Feiwel & Friends - January 16th, 2024

In this bittersweet retelling of the beloved classic, Gabe Cole Novoa tells the story of Oliver Bennet, a trans boy yearning for a future- and a romance- where he can live openly as himself. Equal parts heart-wrenching and filled to the brim with pure trans joy, this was a reimagining I didn't even know I was craving but that has forever healed something in me. By reclaiming this classic love story for queer and trans readers everywhere, Novoa offers up a safe space in Most Ardently where one can find shelter from the horrors of the present and hope for a better, brighter future.


Staff Pick Badge
The Prospects: A Novel By KT Hoffman Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780593596869
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Dial Press Trade Paperback - April 9th, 2024

A joyous feel-good romance about Gene, one of the first openly trans minor league baseball players, and Luis, Gene's anxious and aggravating new teammate. Funny, heartwarming, and above all else, hopeful, The Prospects was an absolute delight from beginning to end and my new go-to for a pick-me-up anytime I'm feeling down!


Staff Pick Badge
Elatsoe By Darcie Little Badger, Rovina Cai (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Darcie Little Badger, Rovina Cai (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781646142767
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Levine Querido - October 31st, 2023

Wednesday meets Reservation Dogs with a touch of Neil Gaiman and Diana Wynne Jones's writing in this supernatural coming of age story about a Lipan Apache girl who can communicate with ghost animals. With the help of her trusty ghost dog, Kirby, Elatsoe- "Ellie"- will have to use all her ancestral knowledge and help of friends and family to solve her cousin's murder and stop an ancient force from wreaking havoc on her small town before it's too late. At times both heartbreaking and heartwarming, this magic realism story isn't one to miss!


Staff Pick Badge
A Psalm for the Wild-Built (Monk & Robot #1) By Becky Chambers Cover Image
$20.99
ISBN: 9781250236210
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Tordotcom - July 13th, 2021

Follow along as Dex, a tea monk who no longer enjoys their work, and Mosscap, a curious robot, venture into the wilderness seeking solitude and the meaning of life. An incredibly kind book, A Psalm for the Wild-Built will give you hope for a more compassionate world, invite you to rest for as long as you need, and remind you that it's okay not to have everything figured out. If you've ever felt lost, alone, or in desperate need of a break from the stress of everyday life, this is the perfect book for you! And don't forget to check out its sequel, A Prayer for the Crown-Shy, which is just as gentle and understanding as its predecessor.


Staff Pick Badge
The Wicked Bargain By Gabe Cole Novoa Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780593378014
Availability: Not currently on our shelves, but available to order (usually within a few days)
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - February 28th, 2023

El Diablo is in the details in this swash-buckling pirate fantasy. With magic, adventure, and sea-salt scented romantic tension, this is the perfect read for fans of Aiden Thomas and Our Flag Means Death! Be sure to check out the audiobook- read by Vico Ortiz aka Jim on Our Flag Means Death- on Libro.fm! It's one of my favorite audiobooks ever!


Staff Pick Badge
Gwen & Art Are Not in Love: A Novel By Lex Croucher Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9781250847218
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Wednesday Books - November 28th, 2023

Gwen and Art might be engaged, destined to bring two kingdoms together, but they couldn't despise each other more. In fact, hating each other seems to be the only thing they can agree on- at least until Gwen catches Arthur kissing a boy in the stables and Arthur uncovers Gwen's secret diary detailing her crush on the only lady knight in the kingdom. Begrudgingly, the two decide to keep each other's secrets, potentially changing history in the process. Full to bursting with heart, laugh-out-loud humor, a message of hope and change even amidst the darkest of times, and one of the most lovable found families I've met in a long time, Gwen and Art Are Not In Love immediately shot to the top of my favorites shelf and has refused to move since.


Staff Pick Badge
Where Sleeping Girls Lie By Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250800848
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Feiwel & Friends - March 19th, 2024

The last thing Sade Hussein is expecting when she starts at Alfred Nobel Academy is for her roommate to go missing a few days after she arrives, or for a student to be found dead a few weeks later. When rumors start spreading about Sade's possible involvement with the two incidents, she starts her own investigation, uncovering more secrets than she ever thought possible. In her sophomore novel, Abike-Iyimide takes you on a winding and intense journey of grief, secrets, and survival. Although not quite the same heart-pounding thriller as Ace of Spades, Where Sleeping Girls Lie is just as compelling and will keep you guessing until the very end. With a cast of characters that'll feel like your friends by the end, this book, much like its predecessor, is a testament to how even the greatest of evils can be brought down with the right amount of bravery and hope.


Staff Pick Badge
A Tempest of Tea (Blood and Tea) By Hafsah Faizal Cover Image
$20.99
ISBN: 9780374389406
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) - February 20th, 2024

Welcome to Spindrift, prestigious tearoom by day, illegal bloodhouse for vampires by night, it's owner an orphan with a heart of vengeance. When its existence is threatened, Arthie Casmir will have to embark on the heist of a lifetime to try and save her self-made kingdom. Packed to the brim with vampires, romance tinged with mutual betrayals, angry girls with a taste for revenge, a found family forged out of flames and grief, and of course plenty of tea, this is the perfect read for fans of Six of Crows and Peaky Blinders!


Staff Pick Badge
Godly Heathens: A Novel (The Ouroboros #1) By H.E. Edgmon Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9781250853615
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Wednesday Books - November 28th, 2023

Reincarnated gods in the form of petty teenagers. A small, religious, southern town few are able to escape. An ending that will make you literally need to put your head in your hands. A anti-hero to end all anti-heroes and more queerness than you'll know what to do with. Godly Heathens was possibly the messiest, most chaotic book I've read in a long time but also some of the most fun I've had while reading in months. This is not a book to miss!


Staff Pick Badge
The Story of Art Without Men By Katy Hessel Cover Image
$45.00
ISBN: 9780393881868
Availability: Not currently on our shelves, but available to order (usually within a few days)
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - May 2nd, 2023

If asked to name ten great artists, you could probably do so with considerable ease. Van Gogh, Picasso, Monet- the names roll off the tongue. But if asked to name ten great female artists, could you do it? Unless you're an art historian or a connoisseur of art, most people can't do it. Author Katy Hessel sets out to change this with her book, The Story of Art Without Men. Laid out like an extravagant textbook and written with the utmost care and personal detail, Hessel puts in the necessary work of shining a spotlight on hundreds of underappreciated female artists and their impact throughout the history of art. Examined through the lens of various artistic, social, political, and cultural movements, The Story of Art Without Men is informative, inspiring, and lavish in its determination to make sure art history's overlooked female artists get the appreciation and recognition they so rightfully deserve. This book left me with a treasure trove of new artists to obsess over and a renewed hunger to seek out all those underrepresented in my studies, the museums I visit, and the art I view. As stated by Hessel in the final pages, "As the world resets, so must art history," and this book is helping to do just that.


Page Term :