Joy Sullivan discusses Instructions for Traveling West: Poems with Lyndsay Rush

Event date: 

Monday, April 15, 2024 - 7:00pm
2720 Frankfort Avenue
Louisville, KY 40206

Carmichael's Bookstore is excited to host poet JOY SULLIVAN for her latest collection, Instructions for Traveling West. She will be joined in conversation by Lyndsay Rush. 

About the Book:

A vivid and inspiring poetry collection about what’s possible when we heed our instincts and honor our intuition, allowing ourselves to strike out for new territories of love, pleasure, and peace.
 
First, you must realize you’re homesick for all the lives you’re not living. Then, you must commit to the road and the rising loneliness. To the sincere thrill of coming apart.
 
So begins Joy Sullivan’s Instructions for Traveling West—a lush debut collection that examines what happens when we leave home and leap into the deep unknown. Mid-pandemic, Sullivan left the man she planned to marry, sold her house, quit her corporate job, and drove west. This dazzling collection tells that story as it illuminates the questions haunting us all: What possible futures lie on the horizon? What happens when we heed the call of furious reinvention? 
 
A book for anyone flinging themselves into fresh starts, Instructions for Traveling West grapples with loss, loneliness and belonging. These poems teach us that naming our desire is profound alchemy. Each of us holds the power to set our own course forward.

Expansive and heart-opening—exquisite in their specificity, galvanizing in their scope—the poems in Instructions for Traveling West speak to the longing that lives within us all. They remind us that “joy is not a trick.”

 

About the Authors:

Joy Sullivan received an MA in poetry from Miami University and has served as the poet-in-residence for the Wexner Center for the Arts. She has guest-lectured in classrooms from Stanford University to Florida International University and is the founder of Sustenance, a community designed to help writers revitalize and nourish their craft. Read her thoughts on the creative life in her Substack newsletter, Necessary Salt.

Lyndsay Rush is a comedy writer, cofounder of the branding agency Obedient, and the poet behind the popular Instagram account @maryoliversdrunkcousin. Her book of poems, A Bit Much, debuts this September and her work has been featured in ReductressMcSweeney’sNew York magazine, and the New York Times. Lyndsay spent most of her adult life freezing in Chicago, but currently swelters in Nashville with her husband and young son.

Instructions for Traveling West: Poems By Joy Sullivan Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593597613
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Dial Press Trade Paperback - April 9th, 2024

A vivid and inspiring poetry collection about what’s possible when we heed our instincts and honor our intuition, allowing ourselves to strike out for new territories of love, pleasure, and peace.
 


Pre-Order Now Badge
A Bit Much: Poems By Lyndsay Rush Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781250323460
Availability: Coming Soon! Pre-Order this now and we will contact you on publication date!
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - September 17th, 2024

The debut poetry collection from Lyndsay Rush (aka @maryoliversdrunkcousin) is a humorous and joyful celebration of big feelings, tender truths, and hard-won wisdom, for fans of Maggie Smith, Kate Baer, and Kate Kennedy.


Event Term: 

Event Category Terms: 

Event Summary: 

Carmichael's Bookstore is excited to host poet JOY SULLIVAN for her latest collection, Instructions for Traveling West.