Cassie Chambers

Event date: 

Thursday, January 23, 2020 - 7:00pm
2720 Frankfort Ave.
Louisville, KY 40206

After rising from poverty to earn a Harvard degree, an Appalachian lawyer pays tribute to the strong “hill women” who raised and inspired her, and whose values have the potential to rejuvenate a struggling region—an uplifting and eye-opening memoir for readers of Hillbilly Elegy and Educated.

Nestled in the Appalachian mountains, Owsley County is the poorest county in Kentucky and the second poorest in the country. Buildings are crumbling and fields sit vacant, as tobacco farming and coal mining decline. But strong women are finding creative ways to subsist in their hollers in the hills.
 

 
Cassie Chambers grew up in Eastern Kentucky. A lawyer and the vice chair of the Kentucky Democratic Party, she graduated from Yale College, the Yale School of Public Health, the London School of Economics, and Harvard Law School, where she was president of the Harvard Legal Aid Bureau, a student-run law firm that represents low-income clients. Chambers then received a Skadden Fellowhship to return to Kentucky to work with domestic violence survivors in rural communities. She lives in Louisville with her husband.
Pre-Order Now Badge
Hill Women: Finding Family and a Way Forward in the Appalachian Mountains Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781984818911
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now.
Published: Ballantine Books - January 7th, 2020

After rising from poverty to earn two Ivy League degrees, an Appalachian lawyer pays tribute to the strong “hill women” who raised and inspired her, and whose values have the potential to rejuvenate a struggling region—an uplifting and eye-opening memoir for readers of Hillbilly Elegy and Educated.


Event Term: 

Event Category Terms: