Charlie's Picks

Staff Pick Badge
Daisy Jones & The Six: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781524798642
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Ballantine Books - February 4th, 2020

It's official: I've fallen in love with this author. I finished reading The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo a few weeks ago, and this carries the same style. We follow the rise of rock n' roll band, The Six, until they end up collaborating with hit singer Daisy Jones. She develops a tense, borderline passionate relationship with lead singer Billy Dunne. Gives major will-they-won't-they vibes. The novel is meant to vaguely reference Fleetwood Mac, including the notorious drug use of the 70s. We watch as these incredibly talented people fall into destructive habits, fall in love, and write music about it. My heart broke seeing these characters battle their addictions. Sex, drugs, music. This embodiment of rock n' roll had me mesmerized from beginning to end.


Staff Pick Badge
Hooky Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780358468295
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Clarion Books - September 7th, 2021

Oh no! Dani and Dorian just missed the bus to magic school! Their parents will be furious... Why not play hooky for awhile? Here's a story about these two magical twins, the friendships they develop, and an end-of-the-world type prophecy. The art is stunning, and the story is truly heart-warming. Perfect for fans of Harry Potter!


Staff Pick Badge
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781501161933
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Washington Square Press - May 29th, 2018

Where to start with this one? We bear witness to the life story of aging Hollywood bombshell, Evelyn Hugo, through the eyes of the journalist she charges with documenting it. A true beacon of female sexuality and sensuality, I found it hard not to like Evelyn, even in her worst moments. From the beginning of Evelyn's story, her heartbreak, ambition, and sexuality were palpable. As she goes through strategic marriages with various powerful men on the backdrop of the 50s and 60s, Evelyn tries to hide her catatonic, decades-long love for fellow actress, Celia St. James. I was enthralled, bewitched, and beautifully devastated. Highly, highly recommend this.


Staff Pick Badge
Love Around The World 1: Family and Friendship Around the World (Lonely Planet Kids) Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781788684941
Availability: Not currently in stock, but we are happy to backorder and notify you when it arrives.
Published: Lonely Planet - December 15th, 2020

How do different people celebrate and show their love? This book is beautiful exploration of love around the world! A perfect match for curious minds. From China to Kenya to Mexico and back, this book covers the numerous ways people show they love each other in different cultures. Even as a 19 year old, I learned more about the world by the end of it.


Staff Pick Badge
The Night Gardener Cover Image
By Terry Fan, Eric Fan, Terry Fan (Illustrator), Eric Fan (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481439787
Availability: Not currently on our shelves, but available to order (usually within a few days)
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - February 16th, 2016

What would you do if you woke up one morning to a tree shaped like a dragon? A mysterious phenomenon is occuring at Grimloch Lane. People start coming out of their houses to find trees shaped like various animals! Young, oprhaned William realizes this must be the work of a gardener. A night gardener, to be exact. A sweet children's story about improving your neighborhood and people's lives.


Staff Pick Badge
Grand Jeté and Me Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062392022
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: HarperCollins - October 19th, 2021

A lovely story about a little girl who's grandma was a prima ballerina. They go to see the nutcracker at the theatre, and she finds out her grandma once played the sugar plum fairy! It's a good amount of festive and is illustrated by the author of Fancy Nancy, so you already know the art is going to be perfect.


Staff Pick Badge
Crying in H Mart: A Memoir Cover Image
$21.56
ISBN: 9780525657743
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Knopf - April 20th, 2021

This collection of essays on food, love and Zauner's relationship with her mother hits impossibly deep. Like, "call your parents at 3am to tell them you love them" deep. Documenting the high school decline of their relationship to the phone call where she learns her mother has cancer, each essay explores the cultural and culinary ties Zauner had through her mother. Highly recommend for when you need something to help process grief.


Page Term :