Family

Becoming Muhammad Ali Book Release with James Patterson & Kwame Alexander

Event date: 

Monday, October 5, 2020 - 6:00pm to 8:00pm
Virtual Zoom Event
Louisville, KY 40204

Join us on Monday, October 5th at 6pm as Carmichael's Kids hosts James Patterson and Kwame Alexander in partnership with the Ali Center as they present their new release, Becoming Muhammad Ali!

From two heavy-hitters in children's literature comes a biographical novel of cultural icon Muhammad Ali.

Synopsis: Before he was a household name, Cassius Clay was a kid with struggles like any other. Kwame Alexander and James Patterson join forces to vividly depict his life up to age seventeen in both prose and verse, including his childhood friends, struggles in school, the racism he faced, and his discovery of boxing. Readers will learn about Cassius' family and neighbors in Louisville, Kentucky, and how, after a thief stole his bike, Cassius began training as an amateur boxer at age twelve. Before long, he won his first Golden Gloves bout and began his transformation into the unrivaled Muhammad Ali.

Fully authorized by and written in cooperation with the Muhammad Ali estate, and vividly brought to life by Dawud Anyabwile's dynamic artwork, Becoming Muhammad Ali captures the budding charisma and youthful personality of one of the greatest sports heroes of all time.

This is a ticketed event. The book must be purchased from Carmichael's Bookstore to receive the Zoom access link.

Zoom access links will be emailed prior to the event. Please note in the comment field that you are purchasing for the event.

Becoming Muhammad Ali Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316498166
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: jimmy patterson - October 5th, 2020

From two heavy-hitters in children's literature comes a critically acclaimed biographical novel of cultural icon Muhammad Ali.

*"This utterly delightful story about Ali's childhood is a smash hit."
--School Library Journal (starred review)

Five starred reviews!


Event Term: 

Event Category Terms: 

Story Time with Terry Border

Event date: 

Saturday, September 28, 2019 - 2:00pm
1313 Bardstown Rd.
Louisville, KY 40204

From the creator of the popular world of Peanut Butter & Cupcake! comes a wry and witty story in which no snack is safe from the monster that is the Kid. Perfect for fans of Creepy Carrots and A Creepy Pair of Underwear.

They had been warned of the dangers that lurked outside of their packages, but they didn't care. These three snacks were on a mission to have some fun, and no Monster Kids could stop them. The world of the kitchen belonged to Cookie, Pretzel, and Cheese Doodle--or so they thought. But when the three treats find a chilling note from Mom, they know it's time to come up with a plan to save themselves from the horrifying threat of the Kid. What should a smart Cookie and her friends do? Terry Border creates a brand-new, deliciously eerie masterpiece in which the kitchen tables are turned, and after-school snacks become the heroes of a sweet and salty story of survival.

Terry Border is the author of Peanut Butter & Cupcake!; Happy Birthday, Cupcake!; Milk Goes to School; Merry Christmas, Peanut!; and Big Brother Peanut Butter. He is also the mastermind behind the Bent Objects project, which has been lauded in media all over the world, spawning books, calendars, greeting cards, and puzzles. He lives with his family in Indianapolis, Indiana.

Snack Attack! Cover Image
By Terry Border, Terry Border (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781524740115
Availability: Not currently on our shelves, but available in 1-3 days.
Published: Philomel Books - September 3rd, 2019

From the creator of the popular world of Peanut Butter & Cupcake! comes a wry and witty story in which no snack is safe from the monster that is the Kid. Perfect for fans of Creepy Carrots and A Creepy Pair of Underwear.


Event Term: 

Event Category Terms: 

Subscribe to RSS - Family