Adult

Bobi Conn w/ Dr. Chad Berry VIRTUAL

Event date: 

Thursday, August 13, 2020 - 7:00pm

Join us for a free virtual event with author Bobi Conn and Dr. Chad Berry!

Bobi Conn was raised in a remote Kentucky holler in 1980s Appalachia. She remembers her tin-roofed house tucked away in a vast forest paradise; the sparkling creeks, with their frogs and crawdads; the sweet blackberries growing along the road to her granny’s; and her abusive father, an underemployed alcoholic whose untethered rage and violence against Bobi and her mother were frighteningly typical of a community marginalized, desperate, and ignored. In the Shadow of the Valley is a clear-eyed and compassionate memoir of the Appalachian experience by a woman who embraced its astonishing beauty, narrowly escaped its violence, and struggles to call it home.

Dr. Chad Berry is the former Chair of the Appalachian Studies program at Berea College, and is now the Vice President for Alumni and College Relations.

 

Click here to attend the event: https://www.crowdcast.io/e/bobi-conn-w-dr--chad

In the Shadow of the Valley: A Memoir Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9781542004169
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Little a - May 1st, 2020

A clear-eyed and compassionate memoir of the Appalachian experience by a woman who embraced its astonishing beauty, narrowly escaped its violence, and struggles to call it home.


Event Term: 

Event Category Terms: 

Silas House & Carter Sickels VIRTUAL

Event date: 

Thursday, August 6, 2020 - 7:00pm

Join us for a free virtual event with Silas House & Carter Sickels! Click here to attend the event. 

Re-issues of Silas House's THE COAL TATTOO, CLAY'S QUILT, and PARCHMENT OF LEAVES are out now in paperback, and Carter Sickel's debut novel THE PRETTIEST STAR released this May in hardcover. 

ABOUT THE PRETTIEST STAR: A stunning novel about the bounds of family and redemption, shines light on an overlooked part of the AIDs epidemic when men returned to their rural communities to die, by Lambda Literary Emerging Writer Award-winning author Carter Sickels.

Carter Sickels is the author of the novel The Evening Hour. He is the recipient of the 2013 Lambda Literary Emerging Writer Award, and has been awarded scholarships to Bread Loaf Writers' Conference, the Sewanee Writers' Conference, VCCA, and the MacDowell Colony. His essays and fiction have appeared in various publications, including Guernica, Bellevue Literary Review, and BuzzFeed, and he is the editor of Untangling the Knot: Queer Voices on Marriage, Relationships & Identity. Carter is Assistant Professor of English at Eastern Kentucky University, where he teaches in the Bluegrass Writers Studio Low-Residency MFA program. He lives in Lexington, Kentucky.

Silas House is the author of five novels. His book for middle-grade readers, Same Sun Here, was a finalist for the E. B. White Read-Aloud award. A frequent contributor to the New York Times and a former commentator for NPR’s All Things Considered, House is a member of the Fellowship of Southern Writers and is the winner of the Nautilus Award, the Appalachian Writers Association's Book of the Year, and other honors.

 

The Coal Tattoo Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781949467260
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Blair - July 7th, 2020

In World War II-era rural Kentucky, twenty-two-year-old Easter and Anneth, her teenaged sister, lose their parents young, so they must raise each other. Easter finds her life in the Pentecostal Holiness church and its music, while Anneth dances and drinks in less-than-holy honky-tonks.


Clay's Quilt Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781949467246
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Blair - July 7th, 2020

In his New York Times bestselling debut novel, Silas House introduced himself as an important voice for Appalachia, and indeed, for the entire rural South.


A Parchment of Leaves Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781949467253
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Blair - July 7th, 2020

In this nationally bestselling novel, A Parchment of Leaves, Silas House produced an iconic story of 1900s rural mountain Kentucky that remains a favorite of many of his fans.


The Prettiest Star Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781938235627
Availability: Not currently in stock, but we are happy to backorder and notify you when it arrives.
Published: Hub City Press - May 19th, 2020

One of 2020's most acclaimed books. A Kirkus Best Fiction Book of 2020 - One of O Magazine's Best LGBT Books of 2020 - A Finalist for the Southern Book Prize - One of the Women's National Book Association's 2020 Great Group Reads Selections - EW's 50 Most Anticipated Books of 2020 - BookRiot - Lambda Literary's - Salon - BookPage's - Garden & Gun's - Logo NewNowNext's


Event Term: 

Event Category Terms: 

Watch SHIRLEY and Support Carmichael's!

Event date: 

Monday, July 13, 2020 - 12:00am

If you're a Shirley Jackson fan looking to support our bookstore, here's your chance! Carmichael's Bookstore is thrilled to partner with NEON on the virtual release of the new film SHIRLEY. With our link, your ticket is just $5.99, and 50% of proceeds support Carmichael's and our staff! 

Click here for tickets: https://neonrated.vhx.tv/checkout/carmichael-s-bookstore-presents-shirley/purchase?fbclid=IwAR3oVs4CFwo4a43BoMKOpyPtLkjOa2nAzgBG4nava3O-6soiHfMFkcb3uFw

Please note that this is an ONGOING event. You will be able to view the film on your own time, but may choose to participate in the series of Q&A listed below if you'd like.

SYNOPSIS​: ​Renowned horror writer Shirley Jackson is on the precipice of writing her masterpiece when the arrival of newlyweds upends her meticulous routine and heightens tensions in her already tempestuous relationship with her philandering husband. The middle-aged couple, prone to ruthless barbs and copious afternoon cocktails, begins to toy mercilessly with the naïve young couple at their door.

Watch the trailer here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wxMtEean_V8
Participate in a series of virtual Q& A's following the schedule here: https://neonrated.com/posts/shirley-q-a

Event Term: 

Event Category Terms: 

Shaun King at the Kentucky Center for African American Heritage CANCELED

Event date: 

Tuesday, May 12, 2020 - 7:00pm
1701 W Muhammad Ali Blvd
Louisville, KY 40203

Ticket info FORTHCOMING! 

Shaun will be reading from and discussing his book, MAKE CHANGE at the Center for African American Heritage. 

Make Change: How to Fight Injustice, Dismantle Systemic Oppression, and Own Our Future Cover Image
By Shaun King, Bernie Sanders (Foreword by)
$26.00
ISBN: 9780358048008
Availability: Not currently on our shelves, but available to order (usually within a few days)
Published: Mariner Books - August 4th, 2020

A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

“A captivating memoir of change. A hope-filled sermon for change. A tactical blueprint for how we can each make change. Make Change is all three and all the more towards an equitable and just world.”
—Ibram X.


Event Term: 

Event Category Terms: 

**CANCELLED** Chuck Palahniuk visits Carmichael's!

Event date: 

Monday, April 27, 2020 - 12:00pm
2720 Frankfort Avenue
Louisville, KY 40204

More information coming soon!

Fight Club 3 (Graphic Novel) Cover Image
By Chuck Palahniuk, Cameron Stewart (Illustrator), David Mack (Illustrator), Dave Mccaig (Illustrator), Nate Piekos (Illustrator)
$39.99
ISBN: 9781506711782
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Dark Horse Books - April 14th, 2020

Event Term: 

Event Category Terms: 

**cancelled* Robert K. Brown

Event date: 

Thursday, April 9, 2020 - 7:00pm
2720 Frankfort Avenue
Louisville, KY 40206
Hundred Percent Chance: A Memoir Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781733159005
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: 3/3 Press - June 11th, 2019

An authentic, page-turning debut memoir, "this intimate, passionate chronicle of recovery will appeal to those who've battled cancer" (Publishers Weekly). Perfect for fans of When Breath Becomes Air.



Event Term: 

Event Category Terms: 

Nancy Jensen CANCELED

Event date: 

Thursday, May 7, 2020 - 7:00pm
2720 Frankfort Avenue
Louisville, KY 40206
In Our Midst Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781950539161
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Dzanc Books - April 28th, 2020

Drawing upon a long-suppressed episode in American history, when thousands of German immigrants were rounded up and interned following the attack on Pearl Harbor, In Our Midst tells the story of one family's fight to cling to the ideals of freedom and opportunity that brought them to America.

Nina and Otto Aust, along with their teenage sons, feel the foundation of their American lives c


Event Term: 

Event Category Terms: 

Kiki Petrosino & Kristen Miller CANCELED

Event date: 

Thursday, May 14, 2020 - 7:00pm
2720 Frankfort Avenue
Louisville, KY 40206
Spawn (Literature in Translation) Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781771665971
Availability: Not currently on our shelves, but available to order (usually within a few days)
Published: Book*hug Press - April 9th, 2020

Spawn is a braided collection of brief, untitled poems, a coming-of-age lyric set in the Mashteuiatsh Reserve on the shores of Lake Piekuakami (Saint-Jean) in Quebec. Undeniably political, Gill's poems ask: How can one reclaim a narrative that has been confiscated and distorted by colonizers?


Staff Pick Badge
White Blood: A Lyric of Virginia Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781946448545
Availability: On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Published: Sarabande Books - May 5th, 2020

In her fourth full-length book, White Blood: A Lyric of Virginia, Kiki Petrosino turns her gaze to Virginia, where she digs into her genealogical and intellectual roots, while contemplating the knotty legacies of slavery and discrimination in the Upper South.


Event Term: 

Event Category Terms: 

George Lakey CANCELED

Event date: 

Friday, May 22, 2020 - 7:00pm
2720 Frankfort Avenue
Louisville, KY 40206
How We Win: A Guide to Nonviolent Direct Action Campaigning Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781612197531
Availability: Not currently on our shelves, but available to order (usually within a few days)
Published: Melville House - December 4th, 2018

A lifetime of activist experience from a civil rights legend informs this playbook for building and conducting nonviolent direct action campaigns


Event Term: 

Event Category Terms: 

Toni Gilpin CANCELED

Event date: 

Thursday, June 4, 2020 - 7:00pm
2720 Frankfort Avenue
Louisville, KY 40206
The Long Deep Grudge: A Story of Big Capital, Radical Labor, and Class War in the American Heartland Cover Image
$21.95
ISBN: 9781642590333
Availability: Not currently on our shelves, but available to order (usually within a few days)
Published: Haymarket Books - February 25th, 2020

2020 Book of the Year - International Labor History Association

Honorable Mention - Philip Taft Labor History Prize


Event Term: 

Event Category Terms: 

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Adult