Adult

Julie Marie Wade

Event date: 

Friday, April 3, 2020 - 7:00pm
2720 Frankfort Ave
Louisville, KY 40206
Pre-Order Now Badge
Just an Ordinary Woman Breathing (21st Century Essays) Cover Image
$18.95
ISBN: 9780814255674
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now.
Published: Mad Creek Books - February 27th, 2020

You have a history, and a body. You are a history, and a body. Your body has (is) a history, too. As a girl, Julie Marie Wade was uninterested in makeup, boy-watching, and other trappings of conventional girlhood, much to her mother’s disappointment.


Event Term: 

Event Category Terms: 

Craig Beaven

Event date: 

Thursday, March 19, 2020 - 7:00pm
2720 Frankfort Ave
Louisville, KY 40206
Natural History Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781878851710
Availability: Not currently on our shelves, but available in 1-3 days.
Published: Silverfish Review Press - April 15th, 2019

Poetry. "I've been an admirer of Craig Beaven's poetry for years; for its deep focus as well as its immaculate craft. In NATURAL HISTORY the poet's domestic life--impending parenthood and marriage--is often in the foreground, but in the background of these poems is a deep, unsettling sense of history and time itself that haunts.


Event Term: 

Event Category Terms: 

Kimmery Martin

Event date: 

Wednesday, February 26, 2020 - 7:00pm
2720 Frankfort Ave
Louisville, KY 40206
Pre-Order Now Badge
The Antidote for Everything Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781984802835
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now.
Published: Berkley - February 18th, 2020

In this whip-smart and timely novel from acclaimed author Kimmery Martin, two doctors travel a surprising path when they must choose between treating their patients and keeping their jobs.
 


Event Term: 

Event Category Terms: 

Ed McClanahan

Event date: 

Thursday, February 20, 2020 - 7:00pm
2720 Frankfort Ave
Louisville, KY 40206
Pre-Order Now Badge
Not Even Immortality Lasts Forever: Mostly True Stories Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9781640092600
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now.
Published: Counterpoint LLC - February 18th, 2020

McClanahan crafts his coming-of-age tales with comic wit and refreshing honesty, inviting readers to relive the memories that shaped his character and career--from hilarious childhood antics in small-town Kentucky to eye-opening adventures on the West Coast


Event Term: 

Event Category Terms: 

Hannah Drake

Event date: 

Thursday, February 6, 2020 - 7:00pm
2720 Frankfort Ave
Louisville, KY 40206
Dear White Women, It's Not You. It's Me. I'm Breaking Up With You!: Commentaries on Race, White Feminism, Allyship and Intersectionality Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9780997299229
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Drake Publishing - October 14th, 2019

Event Term: 

Event Category Terms: 

Cassie Chambers

Event date: 

Thursday, January 23, 2020 - 7:00pm
2720 Frankfort Ave
Louisville, KY 40206
Pre-Order Now Badge
Hill Women: Finding Family and a Way Forward in the Appalachian Mountains Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781984818911
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now.
Published: Ballantine Books - January 7th, 2020

After rising from poverty to earn two Ivy League degrees, an Appalachian lawyer pays tribute to the strong “hill women” who raised and inspired her, and whose values have the potential to rejuvenate a struggling region—an uplifting and eye-opening memoir for readers of Hillbilly Elegy and Educated.


Event Category Terms: 

BOOM Project

Event date: 

Thursday, January 16, 2020 - 7:00pm
2720 Frankfort Ave
Louisville, KY 40206

 Co-editors Bonnie Omer Johnson and Kimberly Crum, announce the upcoming publication of The Boom Project: Voices of a Generationa collection of stories, essays and poems by writers, born between 1946 and 1964, who have lived (or are living now) in communities along the Ohio River, between Pittsburgh, PA and Cairo, ILL.

In this collection, readers will find writing that is provocative, lush, witty, accessible and universal. More than forty writers speak on a variety of topics—the river, home, cultural and historical events, coming of age and the coming of aging. Some writers have extensive publishing histories; for others, this is their first publication. All speak in voices that will resound.

 

Event Term: 

Event Category Terms: 

Carmichael's Community Book Club

Event date: 

Tuesday, January 28, 2020 - 7:00pm
2720 Frankfort Avenue
Louisville, KY 40206

Join us when the Carmichael's Community Book Club reconvenes on January 28th for a double header: The Handmaid's Tale and its sequel The Testaments both by Margaret Atwood.

Whether you read both or just one, we'd love for you to join us!

The Handmaid's Tale: A Novel Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780385490818
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Anchor - March 16th, 1998

#1 New York Times bestseller 

Look for The Testaments, the sequel to The Handmaid’s Tale, available now.

 


The Testaments: The Sequel to The Handmaid's Tale Cover Image
$23.16
ISBN: 9780385543781
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Nan A. Talese - September 10th, 2019

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

WINNER OF THE BOOKER PRIZE

The Testaments is a modern masterpiece, a powerful novel that can be read on its own or as a companion to Margaret Atwood’s classic, The Handmaid’s Tale.


Event Term: 

Photo: 

Event Category Terms: 

Kentucky Author Forum with James Stavridis

Event date: 

Monday, December 16, 2019 - 6:00pm
501 W. Main St.
Louisville, KY 40202

Carmichael's Bookstore is pleased to partner with the Kentucky Author Forum as they present Admiral James Stravidis. Buy your tickets here.

Sailing True North: Ten Admirals and the Voyage of Character Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780525559931
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Penguin Press - October 15th, 2019

From one of the most distinguished admirals of our time and a former Supreme Allied Commander of NATO, a meditation on leadership and character refracted through the lives of ten of the most illustrious naval commanders in history


Event Term: 

Event Category Terms: 

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Adult