Adult

Matthew Algeo

Event date: 

Monday, March 16, 2020 - 7:00pm
2720 Frankfort Ave.
Louisville, KY 40206
Pre-Order Now Badge
All This Marvelous Potential: Robert Kennedy's 1968 Tour of Appalachia Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781641600590
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now.
Published: Chicago Review Press - March 3rd, 2020

In early 1968, Senator Robert F. Kennedy ventured deep into the heart of eastern Kentucky to gauge the progress of President Lyndon Johnson’s War on Poverty. Kennedy, already considering challenging Johnson for the Democratic presidential nomination, viewed his two days in Kentucky as an opportunity to test his antiwar and antipoverty message with hardscrabble white voters.


Event Term: 

Event Category Terms: 

Leesa Cross-Smith

Event date: 

Tuesday, March 10, 2020 - 7:00pm
2720 Frankfort Avenue
Louisville, KY 40206

Join us at our Frankfort Avenue store for an evening with Leesa Cross-Smith in celebration of her new story collection, So We Can Glow. Leesa will be joined by Daniel Gilliam, Program Director of Louisville Public Media. 

About the book: From Kentucky to the California desert, these forty-two short stories expose the hearts of girls and women in moments of obsessive desire and fantasy, wildness and bad behavior, brokenness and fearlessness, and more.On a hot July night, teenage girls sneak out of the house to meet their boyfriends by the train tracks. Members of a cult form an unsettling chorus as they proclaim their adoration for the same man. A woman luxuriates in a fantasy getaway to escape her past. A love story begins over cabbages in a grocery store, and a laundress's life is consumed by her obsession with a baseball star. After the death of a sister, two high school friends kiss all night and binge-watch Winona Ryder movies.

About the author: Leesa Cross-Smith is a homemaker and the author of Every Kiss A War and Whiskey & Ribbons. She lives in Kentucky with her husband and children.

Pre-Order Now Badge
So We Can Glow: Stories Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781538715338
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now.
Published: Grand Central Publishing - March 10th, 2020

A lush, glittering short story collection exploring female obsession and desire by an award-winning author Roxane Gay calls "a consummate storyteller."

From Kentucky to the California desert, these forty-two short stories expose the hearts of girls and women in moments of obsessive desire and fantasy, wildness and bad behavior, brokenness and fearlessness, and more.


Event Term: 

Event Category Terms: 

Cassie Chambers

Event date: 

Thursday, January 23, 2020 - 7:00pm
2720 Frankfort Ave.
Louisville, KY 40206

After rising from poverty to earn a Harvard degree, an Appalachian lawyer pays tribute to the strong “hill women” who raised and inspired her, and whose values have the potential to rejuvenate a struggling region—an uplifting and eye-opening memoir for readers of Hillbilly Elegy and Educated.

Nestled in the Appalachian mountains, Owsley County is the poorest county in Kentucky and the second poorest in the country. Buildings are crumbling and fields sit vacant, as tobacco farming and coal mining decline. But strong women are finding creative ways to subsist in their hollers in the hills.
 

 
Cassie Chambers grew up in Eastern Kentucky. A lawyer and the vice chair of the Kentucky Democratic Party, she graduated from Yale College, the Yale School of Public Health, the London School of Economics, and Harvard Law School, where she was president of the Harvard Legal Aid Bureau, a student-run law firm that represents low-income clients. Chambers then received a Skadden Fellowhship to return to Kentucky to work with domestic violence survivors in rural communities. She lives in Louisville with her husband.
Hill Women: Finding Family and a Way Forward in the Appalachian Mountains Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781984818911
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Ballantine Books - January 7th, 2020

After rising from poverty to earn two Ivy League degrees, an Appalachian lawyer pays tribute to the strong “hill women” who raised and inspired her, and whose values have the potential to rejuvenate a struggling region.

“Destined to be compared to Hillbilly Elegy and Educated.”—BookPage (starred review)


Event Term: 

Event Category Terms: 

Julie Marie Wade

Event date: 

Friday, April 3, 2020 - 7:00pm
2720 Frankfort Ave
Louisville, KY 40206
Pre-Order Now Badge
Just an Ordinary Woman Breathing (21st Century Essays) Cover Image
$18.95
ISBN: 9780814255674
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now.
Published: Mad Creek Books - February 27th, 2020

You have a history, and a body. You are a history, and a body. Your body has (is) a history, too. As a girl, Julie Marie Wade was uninterested in makeup, boy-watching, and other trappings of conventional girlhood, much to her mother’s disappointment.


Event Term: 

Event Category Terms: 

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Adult