Adult

Carmichael's Community Bookclub

Event date: 

Tuesday, October 29, 2019 - 7:00pm
2720 Frankfort Ave.
Louisville, KY 40206

Join us for a Halloween themed book club where we'll discuss Shirley Jackson's We Have Always Lived in the Castle.

We Have Always Lived in the Castle: (Penguin Classics Deluxe Edition) Cover Image
By Shirley Jackson, Jonathan Lethem (Introduction by), Thomas Ott (Illustrator)
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143039976
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Penguin Classics - October 31st, 2006

Shirley Jackson's beloved gothic tale of a peculiar girl named Merricat and her family's dark secret


Event Term: 

Event Category Terms: 

Carmichael's Community Bookclub

Event date: 

Tuesday, September 24, 2019 - 7:00pm
2720 Frankfort Ave.
Louisville, KY 40206

Join us to discuss the incredibly popular WHERE THE CRAWDADS SING by Delia Owens.

Where the Crawdads Sing Cover Image
$20.80
ISBN: 9780735219090
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - August 14th, 2018

#1 New York Times Bestseller
A Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine Book Club Pick

"I can't even express how much I love this book! I didn't want this story to end!"--Reese Witherspoon

"Painfully beautiful."--The New York Times Book Review

"Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver."--Bustle


Event Term: 

Event Category Terms: 

Author Event with Rajani LaRocca

Event date: 

Saturday, October 5, 2019 - 2:00pm
1313 Bardstown Rd
Louisville, KY 40204

Join us for a lively, baking themed discussion with middle grade author Rajani LaRocca!

About the book: Eleven-year-old Mimi Mackson comes from a big Indian American family: Dad's a renowned food writer, Mom's a successful businesswoman, and her three older siblings all have their own respective accomplishments. It's easy to feel invisible in such an impressive family, but Mimi's dream of proving she's not the least-talented member of her family seems possible when she discovers a contest at the new bakery in town. Plus, it'll start her on the path to becoming a celebrity chef like her culinary idol, Puffy Fay.

Rajani LaRocca was born in India, raised in Kentucky, and now lives in the Boston area with her wonderful family and impossibly cute dog. She earned a BA and an MD from Harvard, and spends her time writing novels and picture books, practicing medicine, and baking too many sweet treats. Midsummer's Mayhem is her first novel.

Midsummer's Mayhem Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781499808889
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Yellow Jacket - June 11th, 2019

"A delectable treat for food and literary connoisseurs alike." Kirkus Reviews, STARRED REVIEW

"What a wonderful, intriguing, and magical book. And wow, did it ever get my tastebuds going! Each time I picked it up, I felt the urge to head to my kitchen. . . . What I loved most was the smartness of it.


Event Term: 

Event Category Terms: 

Tony Earley Party

Event date: 

Saturday, September 28, 2019 - 2:00pm
2720 Frankfort Avenue
Louisville, KY 40206

When Samantha Miller started working at Carmichael's four years ago, she asked if we could sell an older book, Jim The Boy, published in 2001. It was one of her favorite books, and she swore that if we carried it, we could sell it. Now, we've sold over 100 copies of this beloved book, and we are going to celebrate. Tony Earley himself will be here, along with actors from the Kentucky Shakespeare Company, and we'll also have cake and live music. So, even if you've never read the book, join us to celebrate a fabulous bookseller and one of her favorite writers of all time. 

Jim the Boy: A Novel Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780316198950
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Back Bay Books - April 2001

Both delightful and wise, Jim the Boy brilliantly captures the pleasures and fears of youth at a time when America itself was young and struggling to come into its own.


Event Term: 

Event Category Terms: 

Kentucky Author Forum with Dani Shapiro

Event date: 

Wednesday, September 25, 2019 - 6:00pm
Kentucky Center for the Performing Arts
501 W. Main St.
Louisville, KY 40202

Carmichael's Bookstore is pleased to partner with the Kentucky Author Forum as they present Dani Shapiro on September 25th. Buy your tickets here.

Inheritance: A Memoir of Genealogy, Paternity, and Love Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9781524732714
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Knopf - January 15th, 2019

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER 

“A gripping genetic detective story, and a meditation on the meaning of parenthood and family.” —Jennifer Egan, author of Manhattan Beach 

 


Event Term: 

Event Category Terms: 

Barbara Brown Taylor

Event date: 

Thursday, October 24, 2019 - 7:00pm
2720 Frankfort Ave.
Louisville, KY 40206

Please RSVP for this event at our store using this link. The event is free and open to the public: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/barbara-brown-taylor-tickets-68501845865

Beloved Episcopal Priest and New York Times bestselling author of An Altar in the World recounts her moving discoveries of finding the sacred in unexpected places while teaching the world’s religions to undergraduates in Baptist-saturated rural Georgia, revealing how God delights in confounding our expectations .

Barbara Brown Taylor is the author of fourteen books, including An Altar in the World, which won the Silver Nautilus Award; Leaving Church, which received an Author of the Year Award from the Georgia Writers Association and was named Theologos Best General Interest Book; and Learning to Walk in the Dark, which was named one of Publishers Weekly’s Best Religion Books of 2014 and received a 2015 Living Now Book Award. Taylor recently retired as the Butman Professor of Religion at Piedmont College, where taught since 1998. She lives on a working farm in rural northeast Georgia with her husband Ed.

Holy Envy: Finding God in the Faith of Others Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9780062406569
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: HarperOne - March 12th, 2019

New York Times Bestseller


Event Term: 

Event Category Terms: 

Carmichael's Loves Poetry

Event date: 

Thursday, October 17, 2019 - 7:00pm
2720 Frankfort Ave.
Louisville, KY 40206

Carmichael's presents Pat Owen, Frank X Walker, and Katerina Stoykova on October 17th for a joint poetry reading.

Orion's Belt at the End of the Drive Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781936628476
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Accents Publishing - February 15th, 2019

"Pat Owen is that rare poet who witnesses the divine in actually-lived lives--in wrinkles and caf's, otters and baseball, vulvas and ferns. Here is a music as attentive and tender as the practitioner's Zazen-breath, and like the Zazen master, here is a tenderness that is hard, sharp, quick.


Second Skin Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9786197153439
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Accents Publishing - March 17th, 2019

Second Skin by Katerina Stoykova discusses the horrors of growing up in domestic violence, and focuses on some of the long-term effects of such upbringings. This poetry collection features three main characters--a mother, a father and a child. The story of the family is told from the child's perspective.


Last Will, Last Testament Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781936628490
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Accents Publishing - April 2019

Event Term: 

Event Category Terms: 

C. Robert & Victoria A. Ullrich

Event date: 

Thursday, October 3, 2019 - 7:00pm
2720 Frankfort Ave.
Louisville, KY 40206
The first German immigrants in Louisville were shoemakers, bakers, butchers, blacksmiths and brewers--literally everything from basket makers to carriage manufacturers. Later, these industrious immigrants became captains of industry and influence in the city. August Prante's family built many of the magnificent organs for Louisville churches. Abraham Flexner was a pioneer in medical education, while Louis Brandeis was the first Jew to serve on the United States Supreme Court. William George Stuber, the son of Louisville photographer Michael Stuber, became the president of the Eastman Kodak Company. C. Robert Ullrich and Victoria A. Ullrich present a series of essays detailing how German immigrants shaped the industry and culture of Louisville.
German Influences in Louisville Cover Image
By C. Robert Ullrich (Editor), Victoria A. Ullrich (Editor)
$21.99
ISBN: 9781467144070
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: History Press - September 9th, 2019

The first German immigrants in Louisville were shoemakers, bakers, butchers, blacksmiths and brewers--literally everything from basket makers to carriage manufacturers. Later, these industrious immigrants became captains of industry and influence in the city. August Prante's family built many of the magnificent organs for Louisville churches.


Event Term: 

Event Category Terms: 

Suki Anderson

Event date: 

Thursday, September 26, 2019 - 7:00pm
2720 Frankfort Ave.
Louisville, KY 40206

Suki Anderson is a dream journalist, a.k.a. subconscious fiction artist. A visual artist since she could hold a crayon, she is currently drawing her dreams. She is CEO of Suki Design Lab, home to her freelance design and line of diseased products and other oddities. She is the singer in Big Momma Thorazine. She is also the art director of Louisville Magazine. She has called Louisville home for the last 25 years.

Event Term: 

Event Category Terms: 

Story Time with Shannon Stocker

Event date: 

Saturday, September 21, 2019 - 1:00pm
1313 Bardstown Rd
Louisville, KY 40204

Join us for a fun, quirky story time with local author Shannon Stocker!

About the book:
B is an awfully boastful bloke and when he and the rest of the alphabet get together, he can't help but tease the vowels about their small numbers. So the vowels begin to take off, one by one. The consonants--and the rest of the farm--see just how important vowels really are. With disaster looming and B seeing the error of his ways, can U save the day and set the alphabet right again?

Shannon Stocker is a children’s author, singer, and songwriter. She lives in Louisville, Kentucky with her husband and children. This is her debut picture book. Read more about her work at www.shannonstocker.com

Can U Save the Day? Cover Image
By Shannon Stocker, Tom Disbury (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781585364046
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Sleeping Bear Press - August 15th, 2019

B is an awfully boastful bloke and when he and the rest of the alphabet get together, he can't help but tease the vowels about their small numbers. So the vowels begin to take off, one by one. The consonants--and the rest of the farm--see just how important vowels really are. With disaster looming and B seeing the error of his ways, can U save the day and set the alphabet right again?


Event Term: 

Event Category Terms: 

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Adult