The Rabbit Factor (Rabbit Factor Trilogy) (Hardcover)

The Rabbit Factor (Rabbit Factor Trilogy) By Antti Tuomainen, David Hackston (Translated by) Cover Image
By Antti Tuomainen, David Hackston (Translated by)
$24.95
On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Carmichael's Bardstown Road
2 on hand, as of Aug 9 1:34pm
(Mystery)

Description


An insurance mathematician’s carefully ordered life is turned on its head when he unexpectedly loses his job and inherits an adventure park … with a whole host of problems. A quirky, tense and warmly funny thriller from award-winning Finnish author Antti Tuomainen, FIRST in a series…

**Soon to be a major motion picture starring Steve Carell for Amazon Studios**


'Laconic, thrilling and warmly human. In these uncertain times, what better hero than an actuary?' Chris Brookmyre

‘The antic novels of Antti Tuomainen prove that comedy is not lost in translation … Tuomainen, like Carl Hiaasen before him, has the knack of combining slapstick with genuine emotion’ The Times

‘A thriller with black comedy worth of Nabokov’ Telegraph

_______________

Just one spreadsheet away from chaos…


What makes life perfect? Insurance mathematician Henri Koskinen knows the answer because he calculates everything down to the very last decimal.

And then, for the first time, Henri is faced with the incalculable. After suddenly losing his job, Henri inherits an adventure park from his brother – its peculiar employees and troubling financial problems included. The worst of the financial issues appear to originate from big loans taken from criminal quarters … and some dangerous men are very keen to get their money back.

But what Henri really can’t compute is love. In the adventure park, Henri crosses paths with Laura, an artist with a chequered past, and a joie de vivre and erratic lifestyle that bewilders him. As the criminals go to extreme lengths to collect their debts and as Henri's relationship with Laura deepens, he finds himself faced with situations and emotions that simply cannot be pinned down on his spreadsheets…

Warmly funny, rich with quirky characters and absurd situations, The Rabbit Factor is a triumph of a dark thriller, its tension matched only by its ability to make us rejoice in the beauty and random nature of life.

_______________

‘Inventive and compelling’ Vaseem Khan

‘Readers might think they know what to expect from Nordic noir: a tortured detective, a bleak setting, a brutal crime that shakes a small community. Finnish crime novelist Tuomainen turns all of this on its head … The ear of a giant plastic rabbit becomes a key weapon. It only gets darker and funnier’ Guardian

'The funniest writer in Europe, and one of the very finest … original and brilliant story-telling' Helen FitzGerald

‘Full of refreshing wit and wisdom … a treat’ Publishers Weekly STARRED REVIEW

‘A dark and delightful novel with an intelligent, brave, and persnickety hero’ Foreword Reviews

'Antti Tuomainen turns the clichéd idea of dour, humourless Scandi noir upside … Dark, gripping and hilarious. Tuomainen is the Carl Hiaasen of the fjords' Martyn Waites

‘A triumph … a joyous, feel-good antidote to troubled times' Kevin Wignall

‘Finland's greatest export’ M.J. Arlidge

'You don’t expect to laugh when you’re reading about terrible crimes, but that’s what you’ll do when you pick up one of Tuomainen’s decidedly quirky thrillers' New York Times

‘Tuomainen is the funniest writer in Europe’ The Times

‘Right up there with the best’ Times Literary Supplement

‘Tuomainen continues to carve out his own niche in the chilly tundras of northern’ Daily Express

For fans of Fargo, Fredrik Backman, Richard Osman.

About the Author


With a piercing and evocative style, Antti Tuomainen was one of the first to challenge the Scandinavian crime genre formula, and his poignant, dark, and hilarious The Man Who Died became an international bestseller, shortlisting for the Petrona and Last Laugh Awards. Palm Beach Finland was an immense success, with The Times calling Tuomainen ‘the funniest writer in Europe,’ and Little Siberia was shortlisted for the Capital Crime/Amazon Publishing Readers Awards, the Last Laugh Award, and the CWA International Dagger, and won the Petrona Award for Best Scandinavian Crime Novel.

David Hackston is a British translator of Finnish and Swedish literature and drama. Notable publications include The Dedalus Book of Finnish Fantasy, Maria Peura’s coming-of-age novel At the Edge of Light, Johanna Sinisalo’s eco-thriller Birdbrain, two crime novels by Matti Joensuu, and Kati Hiekkapelto’s Anna Fekete series (which currently includes The Hummingbird, The Defenceless, and The Exiled, all published by Orenda Books). He also translates Antti Tuomainen’s stories.

Praise For…


"It contains all the main elements of a dark crime/comedy mixed with a peculiar love story that is destined to move and engage the audience. Fans of the Finnish author's previous work should definitely read this one and the same goes to all those who love quirky crime novels with unique characterization. I will be eagerly waiting for the second installment in the series." Tap the Line

"Full of refreshing wit and wisdom, this comic departure from the usual Scandi noir is a treat." — Publishers Weekly starred review

 

'Laconic, thrilling and warmly human. In these uncertain times, what better hero than an actuary?' —Chris Brookmyre

 

'The funniest writer in Europe, and one of the very finest. There is a beautiful rhythm and poetry to the prose … original and brilliant story-telling' —Helen FitzGerald

 

‘British readers might think they know what to expect from Nordic noir: a tortured detective, a bleak setting, a brutal crime that shakes a small community. Finnish crime novelist Tuomainen turns all of this on its head … The ear of a giant plastic rabbit becomes a key weapon. It only gets darker and funnier’ —Guardian


 

‘The antic novels of Antti Tuomainen prove that comedy is not lost in translation … Tuomainen, like Carl Hiaasen before him, has the knack of combining slapstick with genuine emotion’ —The Times
 

'Antti Tuomainen turns the clichéd idea of dour, humourless Scandi noir upside down with The Rabbit Factor. Dark, gripping and hilarious … Tuomainen is the Carl Hiaasen of the fjords' —Martyn Waites

 

'The Rabbit Factor is a triumph, a joyous, feel-good antidote to troubled times' —Kevin Wignall

 

‘Finland's greatest export’ —M.J. Arlidge

 

'You don’t expect to laugh when you’re reading about terrible crimes, but that’s what you’ll do when you pick up one of Tuomainen’s decidedly quirky thrillers' —New York Times

 

The Rabbit Factor is an astounding read. It has the suspenseful twists of a thriller, the laugh-out-loud moments of a comedy and a tragic dimension that brings a tear to the eye’ —Crime Fiction Lover
 

"Highly recommended ... This is a funny, tense thriller – a delightful mix of noir and humour." — Murder in Common Blog

"Tuominen takes real menace, adds a touch of the ridiculous, a lot of the satiric, and a cup of madcap comedy, and cooks it up into a delicious comic noir. I can’t wait for the rest of this series." — Tonstant Weader Blog
 


 


Product Details
ISBN: 9781913193874
ISBN-10: 191319387X
Publisher: Orenda Books
Publication Date: June 1st, 2022
Pages: 300
Language: English
Series: Rabbit Factor Trilogy