Hundred Percent Chance: A Memoir (Paperback)

Hundred Percent Chance: A Memoir Cover Image
$16.95
On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Carmichael's Bardstown Road
2 on hand, as of Dec 4 4:15am
(Memoir)
Carmichael's Frankfort Ave.
2 on hand, as of Dec 4 4:15am
(Memoir)

Description


An authentic, page-turning debut memoir, "this intimate, passionate chronicle of recovery will appeal to those who've battled cancer" (Publishers Weekly). Perfect for fans of When Breath Becomes Air.


In 1990, Robert K. Brown was an ordinary college student studying abroad in England when a series of unexpected and extraordinary events would change the trajectory of his life forever. Choosing to ignore ominous early symptoms, he was still troubled enough to write in his journal "just for the record ... I am frightened because things are happening to me that I can't explain away."


What follows is a race against time to return home to Seattle for months of chemotherapy, countless complications, and a search for as much normalcy as possible when you're forced to face your mortality at twenty.


"While memoirs of surviving disease are plenty, Hundred Percent Chance stands apart through its genuine humor and unflinching portrayal of both the physical and psychological struggles that accompany a diagnosis of disease. Brown avoids inspirational platitudes, instead demonstrating the need for perspective and perseverance in the face of illness.


"Every person Brown introduces, whether their role is significant or small, will leave a memorable impression on readers. This memoir's focus on the tiny moments that ultimately shape and define a life, are particularly poignant and engrossing" (The BookLife Prize).


10% of all proceeds will benefit The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society.



Product Details
ISBN: 9781733159005
ISBN-10: 1733159002
Publisher: 3/3 Press
Publication Date: June 11th, 2019
Pages: 296
Language: English