Fading (The Fading Series #1) (Paperback)

Fading (The Fading Series #1) By Cindy Cipriano Cover Image
The book is not currently in stock at our stores. Please call us for price and availability.

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the The Fading Series series.


Leath Elliott is a seventeen-year-old competitive shooter living with her mother in Woodvine, North Carolina. Leath's father was killed in a tragic accident when she was fourteen, and her friend Victor Santana has been there for her every step of the way since. But the friendship starts to change when Victor develops deeper feelings for her. If that wasn't complicated enough, newcomer James Turner, an emancipated minor with a dark past, wanders into her sights. Leath is captivated by him and wonders if he might be the boy of her dreams—literally.

Fading is the first book in an exciting new fantasy romance series by award-winning author Cindy Cipriano.

About the Author

Cindy Cipriano lives in North Carolina with her husband, son, and their twenty-seven pets.

Not really.

Just three dogs who think they are children and three cats who think they are raccoons. It only seems as if they make twenty-seven. When Cindy isn't writing, she enjoys spending time with her family and the avoidance of cooking.

Fading, The Fading Series Book One, (Clean Teen Publishing) releases in 2018. This is the first in a three-four book series in which seventeen-year-old Leath Elliott wonders if the new boy in town is literally the boy of her dreams.

Cindy's Miller's Island Mysteries series is described as innovative in blending science and fantasy. Eighth graders, Grace and Jack, travel through time solving mysterious science events. Miller's Island Mysteries #1 The Case of the Toxic River (Vulpine Press) released in August 2017. MIMS #1 is the first in an eleven-book series.
Cindy's first novel, The Circle, Book One of The Sidhe (2013), won the 2014 Moonbeam Children's Book Silver Award for Pre-Teen Fiction – Fantasy. Other titles in the series include The Choice, Book Two of The Sidhe (2015), and The Lost, Book Three of The Sidhe (2017). Look for The Secret, Book Four of The Sidhe to release in May 2018. The series follows Calum, Laurel, and Hagen from middle through high school as they first rescue Calum's kidnapped cousin, and then save the Otherworld from dark Sidhe. This series is published by Odyssey Books.

Cindy's article, Level Up Intrinsic Motivation, was published in the JOURNAL OF INTERDISCIPLINARY LEADERSHIP in 2016 and two of her short stories were published in the Children's anthology, Doorway to Adventure (2010).

Praise For…

Author: Cindy Cipriano

Online Publish Date: April 10, 2018
Publisher:Clean Teen
Pages: 309
Price ( Paperback ): $10.95
Publication Date: April 10, 2018
ISBN ( Paperback ): 978-1-63422-286-0
Category: Fiction
Series: Fading
Volume: 1

Leath is torn between her long-standing love for Victor, comfortable and dependable, and her requited longing for James, a total stranger who is literally the boy of her dreams. When James transfers into Leath's small-town, North Carolina high school, she recognizes him—he's shared her dreams for years—and learns he's been searching for her. Since her father's death several years earlier, her mother's life has revolved around work and Leath, a junior who will be departing for college. As James and Leath grow closer, Victor, previously patient, grows jealous—with reason. Leath's friend Anamae is more understanding. Leath's affection for Victor pales next to the passion she feels for James. Yet his possessiveness scares her. Who is James? His account doesn't add up. Even as he reveals the strange truth behind his arrival, James hesitates; which path they choose will determine their future, and all choices involve loss. Meanwhile, Leath asserts her own right to decide. To do so, she'll need to remember the past the way it really happened. Latino Victor excepted, Leath and other characters appear white, while James' and Anamae's races are unspecified. While Leath's agonizing indecision is overstressed (the gender roles mostly adhere to typical romance memes and tropes), her struggle to make her own choices is compelling. Transcending genre clichés, this series opener unfolds with a gripping emotional intensity, raising expectations for future installments. (Paranormal romance. 12-16)  - - Kirkus Reviews

Product Details
ISBN: 9781634222877
ISBN-10: 1634222873
Publisher: Clean Teen Publishing
Publication Date: April 10th, 2018
Pages: 300
Language: English
Series: The Fading Series