1295 Bardstown Rd. | 2720 Frankfort Ave. | 1313 Bardstown Rd.

Another Turn of the Crank (Paperback)

Another Turn of the Crank Cover Image
On Our Shelves Now.
Carmichael's Bardstown Road
1 on hand, as of Mar 23 4:45am
Carmichael's Frankfort Ave.
2 on hand, as of Mar 23 4:45am


"A Kentucky farmer and writer, and perhaps the great moral essayist of our day, Berry has produced one of his shortest but also most powerful volumes." ―The New York Review of Books

"The rarest (and highest) of literary classes consist of that small group of authors who are absolutely inimitable . . . One of the half-dozen living American authors who belongs in this class is Wendell Berry." ―Los Angeles Times

"Berry is a philosopher, poet, novelist, and an essayist in the tradition of Emerson and Thoreau . . . like Thoreau, he marches to a different drummer, a drummer we would do well to be aware of, if not to march to." ―San Francisco Chronicle

From modern health care to the practice of forestry, from local focus to national resolve, Wendell Berry argues, there can never be a separation between global ecosystems and human communities--the two are intricately connected, and the health and survival of one depends upon the other.

Provocative, intimate, and thoughtful, Another Turn of the Crank reaches to the heart of Berry's concern and vision for the future, for America and for the world.

About the Author

Wendell Berry is the author of more than fifty books of poetry, fiction, and essays. He was most recently awarded the Cleanth Brooks Medal for Lifetime Achievement and the Louis Bromfield Society Award. For more than forty years he has lived and farmed with his wife, Tanya, in Kentucky.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781582437460
ISBN-10: 1582437467
Publisher: Counterpoint LLC
Publication Date: July 12th, 2011
Pages: 109
Language: English