Bach's Goldberg Variations (Once Upon a Masterpiece #3) (Hardcover)

Bach's Goldberg Variations (Once Upon a Masterpiece #3) By Anna Harwell Celenza, Joann E. Kitchel (Illustrator) Cover Image
The book is not currently in stock at our stores. Please call us for price and availability.


Johann Sebastian Bach created some of the most significant music in history, including A Keyboard Practice Consisting of an Aria with Thirty Variations for the Harpsichord—commonly known as the Goldberg Variations. Goldberg is Johann Gottlieb Goldberg, a young musician in the court of Count Keyserlingk, a Russian ambassador living in Dresden. It isn’t known for certain why Bach’s difficult composition was named for the young man, but Anna Harwell Celenza gives us one possible story based on extensive research.

About the Author

Anna Harwell Celenza is a musicologist and the author of several books for adults and children regarding music history and the history of art. Her children’s books include THE FAREWELL SYMPHONY, PICTURES AT AN EXHIBITION, GERSHWIN'S RHAPSODY IN BLUE, and VIVALDI'S FOUR SEASONS. Anna lives in Baltimore, Maryland.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781580895293
ISBN-10: 1580895298
Publisher: Charlesbridge
Publication Date: October 18th, 2016
Pages: 32
Language: English
Series: Once Upon a Masterpiece