Everlost (The Skinjacker Trilogy #1) (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
Everlost (The Skinjacker Trilogy #1) By Neal Shusterman Cover Image
Not currently on our shelves, but available to order (usually within a few days)

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the The Skinjacker Trilogy series.

Staff Reviews

Allie and Nick died. The accident left no survivors, but the afterlife is still a ways off for these two lost children. Their souls are stranded in a limbo-esque realm between life and death where thought and meaning rule their reality. Nick and Allie must navigate their way through a strange, frightening land of spectres, dead kids and long destroyed monuments. Shusterman's story is often broken by philosophical asides that serve the larger narrative and pose great moral quandaries (as is Shusterman's style). 

I love this book and its sequels. It's been a while since I read them but they had a lasting impact on the way I think and behave. I regard it as one of the best trilogies I have ever had the pleasure of reading.

— From Israel's Picks


In this eerie and atmospheric novel, New York Times bestselling and award-winning author Neal Shusterman explores questions of life, death, and what might lie in between.

Nick and Allie don’t survive the car accident—and their souls don’t exactly get where they’re supposed to go. Instead, they’re caught halfway between life and death, in a sort of limbo known as Everlost: a shadow of the living world, filled with all the things and places that no longer exist. It’s a magical, yet dangerous, place where bands of lost kids run wild and anyone who stands in the same place too long sinks to the center of the Earth.

When they find Mary, the self-proclaimed queen of lost souls, Nick feels like he’s found a home, but Allie isn’t satisfied spending eternity between worlds. Against all warnings, Allie begins learning the “Criminal Art” of haunting, and ventures into dangerous territory, where a monster called the McGill threatens all the souls of Everlost.

About the Author

Neal Shusterman is the New York Times bestselling author of more than thirty award-winning books for children, teens, and adults, including the Unwind dystology, the Skinjacker trilogy, Downsiders, and Challenger Deep, which won the National Book Award. Scythe, the first book in his series Arc of a Scythe is a Michael L. Printz Honor Book. He also writes screenplays for motion pictures and television shows. Neal is the father of four, all of whom are talented writers and artists themselves. Visit Neal at StoryMan.com and Facebook.com/NealShusterman.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781534483286
ISBN-10: 1534483284
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: September 15th, 2020
Pages: 336
Language: English
Series: The Skinjacker Trilogy