The Gatekeeper: A Thriller (A Dez Limerick Novel #1) (Hardcover)

The Gatekeeper: A Thriller (A Dez Limerick Novel #1) By James Byrne Cover Image
$27.99
On Our Shelves in the last 24 hours. Click to see a specific store location's stock.
Carmichael's Bardstown Road
1 on hand, as of Nov 25 8:33am
(Mystery)

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the A Dez Limerick Novel series.

Description


James Byrne's The Gatekeeper introduces Dez Limerick in the most anticipated new thriller in years.

A highly trained team of mercenaries launches a well-planned, coordinated attack on a well-guarded military contractor - but they didn't count on one thing, the right man being in the wrong place at the right time.

Desmond Aloysius Limerick (“Dez” to all) is a retired mercenary, and enthusiastic amateur musician, currently in Southern California, enjoying the sun and sitting in on the occasional gig, when the hotel he's at falls under attack. A skilled team attempts to kidnap the Chief legal counsel of Triton Expeditors, a major military contractor – in fact, Petra Alexandris is the daughter of the CEO – but their meticulously-planned, seamlessly executed scheme runs into the figurative 'spanner-in-the-works,' Dez himself.

After foiling the attack, and with nothing better to do, Dez agrees to help Alexandris with another problem she’s having – someone has embezzled more than a billion dollars from her company and left very few tracks behind. But Dez is a gatekeeper – one who opens doors and keeps them open – and this is just a door of another kind. And the door he opens leads to a dangerous conspiracy involving media manipulation, militias, an armed coup, and an attempt to fracture the United States themselves. There’s only one obstacle between the conspirators and success – and that is Dez, The Gatekeeper.

About the Author


JAMES BYRNE is the pseudonym for an author who has worked for more than twenty years as a journalist and in politics. A native of the Pacific Northwest, he lives in Portland, Oregon.

Praise For…


"In a genre packed with burly, think-on-your-feet heroes, Dez is something new and fresh. He leaps off the page and into our imaginations." --Booklist (starred review)

"Gripping and compelling...this one is a true keeper." --Library Journal (starred review)

"Fans of action-packed thrillers will enjoy getting to know this charming new hero." --Publishers Weekly

"What a welcome blast of freshness James Byrne’s The Gatekeeper is to the world of thrillers! Great plot, great pacing, and a voice that jumps off the page. Most essentially, it’s charming as hell, which makes for a delightful read. Let’s hope we’re lucky enough to get plenty more of “Dez” Limerick’s unique brand of gritty troubleshooting." --Gregg Hurwitz, New York Times bestselling author of the Orphan X series

"James Byrne's The Gatekeeper is a fast blast of pure fun. Dez Limerick is smart, funny, and endlessly capable, and Byrne's writing is filled with unexpected twists. Do not miss this one!" — Nick Petrie, bestselling, award-winning author of The Breaker and other Peter Ash novels

"Dez Limerick, the smart, mysterious hero of James Byrne's fabulous debut thriller, is the most exciting new character I've read in years. The Gatekeeper is a flat-out, high speed winner. I loved it." —Robert Crais, New York Times bestselling author of A Dangerous Man

“What a ride. With vivid characters in a pulse-pounding story, The Gatekeeper feels chillingly, thrillingly real. Grab it!” —Meg Gardiner, author of the UNSUB series

"The Gatekeeper starts fast and moves faster. It's a taut, explosive tale with high stakes and authenticity that kept me riveted and fanning the pages. Fans of Lee Child and Vince Flynn will love the hero, Dez, and find themselves enthralled in The Gatekeeper." Mark Greaney #1 NYT Bestselling Author of Relentless

“Adrenaline charged! James Byrne delivers an action-packed, twist-a-minute thrill ride featuring Dez, the massively muscled, wickedly clever, tongue in cheek hero we never knew we needed...and I already can't wait to meet again.” -- Lisa Gardner, New York Times bestselling author of When You See Me

"This one grabs hold of you tight on page one, and keeps hold of you until all is finally revealed. A stylish, entertaining romp with plenty of sizzle.” -- Steve Berry, New York Times bestselling author of The Kaiser's Web

"Haven't had this much fun with fistfights, breakage, and mayhem for years! The Gatekeeper gives you fast action, clever dialogue, and smartly crisp writing. Do yourself a favor--don't miss this!" —W. Michael Gear and Kathleen O'Neal Gear, New York Times bestselling authors



Product Details
ISBN: 9781250805768
ISBN-10: 1250805767
Publisher: Minotaur Books
Publication Date: June 7th, 2022
Pages: 336
Language: English
Series: A Dez Limerick Novel