Amanda's Picks

Pre-Order Now Badge
The Once and Future Witches Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780316422048
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now.
Published: Redhook - October 13th, 2020

I have become a fan of historical fiction fantasy mostly due to the writing of Alix E. Harrow. In her latest work, The Once and Future Witches, the reader is introduced to the three Eastwood sisters during the suffragette movement. The sisters become involved with the suffragists but also delve into the will, the words, and the ways of witchcraft. I appreciated reading about the sisters' sibling dynamic and their emotional journey to repair their relationships with one another. The spells that mark the beginning of each new chapter were a treat. Fans of Erin Morgernstern and Gregory Maguire will enjoy this “witchy as hell” tale.


Staff Pick Badge
Our Friend Hedgehog: The Story of Us Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781524766719
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - May 5th, 2020

Cozy up with the first book in this new early chapter series by Caldecott Honor winner Lauren Castillo. Recommended for ages 5-9, this sweet book is about making new friends and being a good friend. It is a peaceful story accompanied by lovely illustrations that will make it an instant bedtime favorite.


Staff Pick Badge
The Gifted School: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780525534976
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Riverhead Books - June 30th, 2020

A fast-paced story about a group of friends and parents who are competing to get their children into a new exclusive school for exceptional students. Set in Colorado, this smart novel keeps you entertained with familiar characters and explosive revelations. I can't wait to see what Bruce Holsinger writes next.


Staff Pick Badge
First Day Critter Jitters Cover Image
By Jory John, Liz Climo (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780735228559
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Dial Books - July 7th, 2020

I'm a big Liz Climo and Jory John fan and this picture book did not disappoint! It is hilarious, adorable, and helpful. I highly recommend it for children feeling a little anxious or nervous about a new beginning.


Staff Pick Badge
Things in Jars: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781982121280
Availability: Not currently on our shelves, but available in 1-3 days.
Published: Atria Books - February 4th, 2020

A cast of characters including a pipe-smoking female detective, a seven-foot tall maid with a lovely baritone, a dead boxer with living tattoos, a young girl and her one-eyed doll, plus more await you in this Gothic mystery novel by Jess Kidd. Set in Victorian London, Bridie Devine has been tasked with finding a kidnapped young girl who may have supernatural abilities. The tale is told by a gifted storyteller who expertly combines hilarious, heartbreaking, and horrific moments. I didn’t want it to end.


Staff Pick Badge
A Good Neighborhood: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250237279
Availability: Not currently on our shelves, but available in 1-3 days.
Published: St. Martin's Press - March 10th, 2020

In a departure from her bestselling historical fiction, the author writes a story about a contemporary neighborhood in North Carolina. This book is a perfect book club selection for the new year because there is plenty to discuss about class, race, love, and more. The story of two completely different families who become neighbors poses many questions. What makes a neighborhood “good?” What does it mean to be a good neighbor? And above all, what does it mean to be a good person? A Good Neighborhood will stay with you long after you read the final page.


Staff Pick Badge
The Grace Year: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250145444
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Wednesday Books - October 8th, 2019

In this YA dystopian thriller, sixteen year old girls are banished to the wilderness for a year to release their “magic” and return purified and prepared for marriage. Tierney James realizes that her greatest threat may not be the elements or poachers of the wilderness; it may very well be the other girls. This fierce page-turner is a timely examination of women’s relationships with one another and survival in a fragmented society.


Staff Pick Badge
The Ten Thousand Doors of January Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9780316421997
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Redhook - September 10th, 2019

The Ten Thousand Doors of January took me on an adventure through generations, continents, and worlds. It is a beautiful mix of genres but ultimately a coming-of-age story about exploration, change, family, and true love. I was lost in January's world and fascinated by the book-within-a-book that had a completely different tone. If you need a magical escape, this is the book for you!


Staff Pick Badge
Bad Blood: Secrets and Lies in a Silicon Valley Startup Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9781524731656
Availability: Not currently on our shelves, but available in 1-3 days.
Published: Knopf - May 21st, 2018

This true crime story about the fall of Silicon Valley startup, Theranos, and its CEO and founder, Elizabeth Holmes, is expertly researched and told. The details are so insane, I couldn't put it down. I'm fascinated by this story and the fact that Holmes was so magnetic she could sell a technology that never worked. Bill Gates also recommends this book!


Staff Pick Badge
Skulls! Cover Image
By Blair Thornburgh, Scott Campbell (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534414006
Availability: Not currently on our shelves, but available in 1-3 days.
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - July 23rd, 2019

"Skulls are safe and snug, like a car seat for your brain." I can't wait to share this book with my four year old. The information told in the main text focuses on the science of the skull in a fun and lighthearted way. It's a positive look at a very important part of our bodies. Scott Campbell's watercolor illustrations are lovely. Not your typical picture book, but it's so fun!


Staff Pick Badge
The Stationery Shop Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781982107482
Availability: Not currently on our shelves, but available in 1-3 days.
Published: Gallery Books - June 18th, 2019

Set during both the political upheaval in Tehran during 1953 and 60 years later, The Stationery Shop tells the story of young love torn apart and a country's changing future. It has excellent descriptions and character development. The book is a slow burn with a big payoff. It's a fascinating exploration of Iranian culture with a captivating love story.


Staff Pick Badge
The Dreamers: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780812994162
Availability: Not currently on our shelves, but available in 1-3 days.
Published: Random House - January 15th, 2019

In a small college town in California, a contagious illness quickly spreads among the residents. The infected cannot be roused from slumber and are displaying heightened levels of brain activity. It is clear they are dreaming, but of what? This is a thought-provoking novel written in clear and elegant prose. The book flows like a dream.


Staff Pick Badge
Dandy Cover Image
By Ame Dyckman, Charles Santoso (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316362955
Availability: The book is not currently in stock at our stores. Please call us for price and availability.
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - April 2nd, 2019

The story of a father trying to destroy the dandelion growing in his perfect lawn and his daughter's efforts to save and befriend it. This book is precious and has a valuable message.


Staff Pick Badge
The Orphan of Salt Winds Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781947793224
Availability: Not currently on our shelves, but available in 1-3 days.
Published: Tin House Books - January 15th, 2019

The exceptional imagery used in this novel sets it apart from other historical fiction placed in Word War II. I felt as if I arrived at the marsh alongside the young orphan Virginia and felt the decay of the home in her later years. The events that haunt the elder Virginia are revealed in an unforgettable way.


Staff Pick Badge
Dear Boy,: A Celebration of Cool, Clever, Compassionate You! Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062422514
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: HarperCollins - April 23rd, 2019

This is a companion book to the #1 NYT bestseller Dear Girl,. It is an inspirational picture book for boys ages 4-8. The lessons and advice are accompanied with stunning illustrations and it is the perfect book for caretakers to read with their own dear boy!


Staff Pick Badge
Where'd You Go, Bernadette: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316204262
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Back Bay Books - April 2nd, 2013

This book is thoroughly entertaining. It is whip-smart, hilarious, and heartwarming all at the same time. Agoraphobic Bernadette is loving, eccentric, and gone. It is up to her teenage daughter Bee to find her. A modern day epistolary that will make you belly laugh.


Page Term :