1295 Bardstown Rd. | 2720 Frankfort Ave. | 1313 Bardstown Rd.

Knots: Stories Cover Image
By Gunnhild Oyehaug, Kari Dickson (Translator)
$22.00
ISBN: 9780374181673
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - July 11th, 2017

A fantastic collection of short stories written the way they oughta be: brief, powerful, and engaging. That, and what I assume is a very Norwegian sense of humor. Fans of Lydia Davis and Joy Williams, this book is for you!


Shadowbahn Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780735212015
Availability: Not currently on our shelves, but available in 1-3 days.
Published: Blue Rider Press - February 14th, 2017

If the idea of a novel about the Twin Towers suddenly reappearing intact in the middle of the Badlands doesn't scare you off, then let me coax you along a little further. The concept is high, yes, but this blend of mixtape liner notes, speculative fiction, and family history is terrifically written. Somehow familiar and far-out at the same time, SHADOWBAHN is strangely addictive.


Universal Harvester Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9780374282103
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - February 7th, 2017

This is a deep, dark story about the consumptive power of loss and grief, and the fissures they crack open in our lives. Haunting images and grave suggestions are scattered throughout by a steely, mysterious narrator that refuses to let you set the book down.


Future Sex: A New Kind of Free Love Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9780865478794
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - October 11th, 2016

Witt’s curious reportage and honest questions continually lead to thoughtful insights in this collection about love, life, sex, commitment, marriage, and self-worth in the 21st century. If you’ve ever sat in wonder at the universe of sexual proclivities and variety of modern relationships, this book is sure to pique your interest.


Cannibals in Love Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780374536633
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Fsg Originals - September 20th, 2016

Sometimes a novel isn't really a novel, but rare is the book that walks that fine line successfully. Mike Roberts has done so here, with a smooth, conversational style that belies the depth of his intentions. A great and refreshing read, like they all should be.


The Cook Up: A Crack Rock Memoir Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781455537266
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Grand Central Publishing - April 18th, 2017

Fans of HBO's The Wire will be fascinated by this personal account of life on the streets of Baltimore, MD. Watkins provides insight into the highs and lows—financial, psychological, and spiritual—of the drug game through a profound self-awareness and a truly endearing narrative voice.


Tomas Young's War Cover Image
By Mark Wilkerson, Phil Donahue (Foreword by)
$17.95
ISBN: 9781608466504
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Haymarket Books - April 26th, 2016

Without a verteran in your life, the cost of war may sometimes slip from mind. Books like this, and men like Tomas Young, ensure that as a nation and a society, we never disregard the value of human life or forget the simple truth of peace.


Six Easy Pieces: Essentials of Physics Explained by Its Most Brilliant Teacher Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780465025275
Availability: Not currently on our shelves, but available in 1-3 days.
Published: Basic Books - March 22nd, 2011

In the ebullient style that made him one of the most popular scientists of his age, Richard Feynman gives us a spectacular crash course in physics. From balance and momentum to his groundbreaking work in quantum electrodynamics, Feynman continually elucidates each of his "pieces" with style, wit, and his trademark vigor.


The Sellout Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781250083258
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Picador USA - March 1st, 2016

After seven long years, one of my all-time favorite authors returns with another novel you just can't put down. Taking dead aim at those who would dare use a term like "post-racial", THE SELLOUT is as funny, smart, and tuned-in as Beatty has ever been.


Egotrip's Book of Rap Lists Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780312242985
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: St. Martin's Press - December 3rd, 1999

From the staff of the now defunct but highly influential rap mag Ego Trip is what I consider the greatest book ever written on the subject. Packed with amazing facts, infinite hip-hop wisdom, and the collective's smart-ass sensibility, it's a book you can pick up and put down until the spine breaks. They don't call themselves "the arrogant voice of musical truth" for nothing.


Oreo Cover Image
By Fran Ross, Danzy Senna (Introduction by), Harryette Mullen (Afterword by)
$14.95
ISBN: 9780811223225
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: New Directions Publishing Corporation - July 7th, 2015

A loose retelling of the tale of Theseus, OREO is an overlooked classic now back in print after 40 years. It is a wickedly funny look at race, culture, and betweenness—even if it's sometimes hard to tell what truly lay on either side.


The Throne of the Third Heaven of the Nations Millennium General Assembly: Poems Collected and New Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780060926960
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Harper Perennial - April 12th, 1996

Imbued with the wild spirit of his short but powerful classic JESUS' SON, but polished with the literary gold of his epic masterpiece TREE OF SMOKE, Denis Johnson's poetry is every bit as good as his prose. I love to loan this collection out, never get it back, and buy it all over again.


Staff Pick Logo
Wolf in White Van Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781250074713
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Picador USA - September 1st, 2015

A story that operates as a window into one reclusive mind, but speaks volumes about the whole of humanity, Darnielle's debut novel is damn near flawless. Its message and meaning adapt and change with more and more attention and grip hard at something hidden within.


The Sheltering Sky Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062351487
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Ecco Press - September 9th, 2014

A friend once handed me this book and simply said, "read it, I know you'll like it." He was right. Loaded with meaning and resonant prose throughout, this 65th anniversary edition proves that THE SHELTERING SKY remains a good story, well told (as the man says...). Read it, I know you'll like it.


Page Term :