1295 Bardstown Rd. | 2720 Frankfort Ave. | 1313 Bardstown Rd.


Staff Pick Logo
Lab Girl Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781101874936
Availability: Not currently on our shelves, but available in 1-3 days.
Published: Knopf Publishing Group - April 5th, 2016

In Lab Girl Hope Jahren speaks all of the truths that I have felt as a woman in science. At times I was reading with tears streaming down my cheeks thinking "yes, oh yes." Her writing is that of a true bibliophile adn her excitement for the trees she studies is infectious. You will be glad that you have read it.


Staff Pick Logo
Between the World and Me Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9780812993547
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Spiegel & Grau - July 14th, 2015

One of the most important books you will read in 2016, Coates writes this book as a letter to his son, which creates the most moving dialog on race that I have read to date.


Staff Pick Logo
Commonwealth Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062491794
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Harper - September 13th, 2016

Ann Patchett's most recent book is a portrait of a family through generations. At times surprising and evocative of time and space, it is a pleasant book that inspires familial empathy.


Staff Pick Logo
The Book of Night Women Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781594484360
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Riverhead Books - February 2nd, 2010

One of my favorite books of the last 15 years, this book stuns. After the first few chapters, you get into the rhythm of the dialect and experience the life of the characters with shimmering vibrancy. One of the most satisfying ends to a novel that I have ever read.


Staff Pick Logo
Larose Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062277022
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Harper - May 10th, 2016

The third installlment of the reservation created in Erdrich's novel Plague of Doves, LaRose has the familiar attention to detail and complex plot themes that runs through all of her writing. The social moral issues that spark the drama of this novel will keep you thinking long after you have read the last page.


Staff Pick Logo
On Such a Full Sea Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781594632891
Availability: Not currently on our shelves, but available in 1-3 days.
Published: Riverhead Books - December 2nd, 2014

In the Baltimore of the future, in this novel called “B-mor”, our heroine is leading a pleasant upper-middle class life in a structured compound with her loving family until the day her boyfriend is taken. This book chronicles the journey of Fan to find her missing partner in a highly segregated and classist society that isolates its citizens from one another creating a divided state. Told with haunting vision, this book stuck with me for months after reading it. I could not shake the visions of lawless countryside and over-regulated cities, where life exists in vastly different realities for the residents born to privileged or poverty, that ring true in our society. In the wake of Ferguson and the fall of Detroit, this book takes you to a not-too-distant reality that you can now see coming.


Staff Pick Logo
The Hueys in None the Number Cover Image
By Oliver Jeffers, Oliver Jeffers (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780399257698
Availability: Not currently on our shelves, but available in 1-3 days.
Published: Philomel Books - July 1st, 2014

I love this little book! The concept of zero is so hard to understand for little ones and Oliver Jeffers does a great job! Not only do we learn about what "none" is, but you also get to know other number friends and examples up through ten! It exposes kids to the importance of numbers in describing things while creating positive association with counting so the kids are less intimidated later in life. A great book for your curious little one!


Staff Pick Logo
The Heaven of Animals: Stories Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781476729978
Availability: Not currently on our shelves, but available in 1-3 days.
Published: Simon & Schuster - March 24th, 2015

In this amazing collection of short stories you are taken into some of the most difficult psychological situations and interpersonal miscommunications I have ever encountered in print.  These stories are at times uplifting, deeply disturbing, strikingly beautiful and gut wrentchingly true. From a paranoid kid with an obsession with honey to a completely heartbreaking instruction sheet on how to help your husband die. Though these stories are short, they are powerful and they will surely leave their mark.


Staff Pick Logo
Moorish: Flavours from Mecca to Marrakech Cover Image
$29.95
ISBN: 9781742706955
Availability: Not currently on our shelves, but available in 1-3 days.
Published: Hardie Grant Books - June 10th, 2014

I made the Hummis bi Tahini (p.67) and it convinced me that I needed this in my life. Never has my kitchen produced hummus as creamy and delicious as this recipe.  Amazing.  Totally worth the purchase price if for that recipe alone. I can't wait to cook my way through this one!


Staff Pick Logo
The Crane Wife Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780143126171
Availability: Not currently on our shelves, but available in 1-3 days.
Published: Penguin Books - December 17th, 2014

This book is a truly different story told by gifted artist.  Part poetry, part love story, this book followes a man who's life has stalled until one day when he helps a crane that has crash landed in his back yard.  This chance encounter sets off a series of events that are more interesting at every turn. Inspired by the Decemberists song of the same title, this book is sure to please.


Staff Pick Logo
The Invention of Wings Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143121701
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Penguin Books - May 5th, 2015

I was very impressed with the latest novel from Sue Monk Kidd.  After the Mermaid Chair I was a bit skeptical but she really came around for her most recent novel.  This is the story of a young abolitionist minded girl from a slave owning family in Charlestown, and her salve.  The story really begins with the intersection of the two main characters when Hetty, a 10 year old slave, is given as a birthday present to Sarah, the eleven year old daughter of a slave owning family. The novel follows their life of struggle from both perspectives giving insight to the complex inner termoil both women faced as well as hardship and oppression from differing angles.  I was also very impressed with the fact that Sarah was an actual historical figure who's true story Kidd kept a close hold of throughout the novel.  It is well written, moving, and made me feel like a more informed person at the end. 


Staff Pick Logo
Longbourn Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780345806970
Availability: Not currently on our shelves, but available in 1-3 days.
Published: Vintage Books - June 17th, 2014

Normal 0 false false false MicrosoftInternetExplorer4

 

Normal 0 false false false MicrosoftInternetExplorer4

 

Longbourn is a wonderful story aside from the wonderful story backdrop of Pride & Prejudice.  This is the story of the servants to Longbourn during the various plots that unfold in Pride & Prejudice, but it does not piggy back off of the original and makes you feel like you are reading the same story.  These characters are well developed and complex, with beautiful heartbreaking stories to tell that is all their own. For anyone who is a fan of Jane Austen, or period fiction in general, or the master-servant paradigm, this is a very interesting and moving book worth your time.

 


Staff Pick Logo
The Signature of All Things Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143125846
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Penguin Books - June 24th, 2014

In Elizabeth Gilbert's return to the novel she has written about something close to my heart: a scientific woman.  Her artfully imagined tale winds through most of the nineteenth century, following a woman who has truly remarkable experiences in a time where a woman was usually more of an ornament than active participant in her own life. A perfect read for sitting on the patio as the autumn light wanes, this book is beautifully written with a central character you grow to love and admire. Great for fans of Barbara Kingsolver's Flight Behavior and Ann Patchett's State of Wonder.


Staff Pick Logo
Home Made Winter Cover Image
By Yvette Van Boven, Oof Verschuren (Photographer)
$35.00
ISBN: 9781617690044
Availability: Not currently on our shelves, but available in 1-3 days.
Published: Stewart, Tabori, & Chang - October 2012

Home Made Winter is the perfect cook book to turn those long cold nights into bountiful culinary experiences.  Learn  how to make apple cider (it takes a food processor and strong arms!) and fresh cheese!  I have found this indispensable in my winter kitchen so far and can't wait to see what the rest of the season brings.  There are also sections that showcase family favorite recipes for various winter holidays from the Feast of St. Nicholas to the celebration of the New Year.  I recommend sitting under a blanket with a warm mug of tea while browsing the pages for the first time, you will not be disappointed.


Staff Pick Logo
The Preservation Kitchen: The Craft of Making and Cooking with Pickles, Preserves, and Aigre-Doux Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9781607741008
Availability: Not currently on our shelves, but available in 1-3 days.
Published: Ten Speed Press - April 3rd, 2012

This food is incredible.  Each recipe gives you enough to make preserves for you and everyone you love to enjoy throughout the year.  Does your uncle love the rich chocolate stout that is so popular now?  Make some beer jam out of it and hand it out at Christmas parties!  The brandied sour cherries are to die for and the grilled skirt steak with fennel panzanella salad is a truly memorable meal.  I have personally tried several of these dishes and I can honestly say they are mind blowingly good.  It is like having Paul Virant at your side, coaching you through the elegant succulence of ordinary flavors coming to life under the right circumstances.


Staff Pick Logo
Denyse Schmidt: Modern Quilts, Traditional Inspiration: 20 New Designs with Historic Roots Cover Image
By Denyse Schmidt, John Gruen (Photographer)
$29.95
ISBN: 9781584799009
Availability: Not currently on our shelves, but available in 1-3 days.
Published: Stewart, Tabori, & Chang - April 2012

In this lovely collection of quilting patterns and techniques Denyse Schmidt does not drag your attention from the patterns and workmanship suggestions with elaborate stories like some authors do.  There is a brief and beautiful introduction to where the pattern originated followed by simple, well thought out explanations of construction that quilters from the novice to the expert will be able to create.  She even gives fabric used in the projects from the book and includes a foldout template section at the back for the more complex designs. Truly a work of beauty and inspiration, every quilting home should have this on their shelf.


Staff Pick Logo
The Round House Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062065254
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Harper Perennial - September 24th, 2013

This book is a hauntingly descriptive tale of a brutal attack on an Ojibwe woman in the late 1980's as seen through the eyes of her early teenage son.  The story is engrossing and the writing is impeccable.  These people stay with you long after you close the book.


Page Term :