1295 Bardstown Rd. | 2720 Frankfort Ave. | 1313 Bardstown Rd.

Author Event

Kevin Gibson

Event date: 
Thursday, March 23, 2017 - 7:00pm
2720 Frankfort Ave.
Louisville, KY 40206

 

Keep Louisville Weird!

Think of this book as a scavenger hunt of sorts for Kentucky's largest city– covering the strange, the surprising, the silly locales, history, and facts. From the legendary birthplace of the cheeseburger (or so the story goes) to the home of the "Happy Bithday" song. Secret Louisville will serve as the hometown tour guide you didn't know you needed. You won't want to miss this free signing and presentation from the author that brought us 100 Things To Do in Louisville Before You Die, Kevin Gibson. 

Kevin Gibson is a Louisville-based freelance author of Secret LouisvilleHe writes about everything from food, beer, entertainment tourism. You've probably seen his work in LEO Weekly and on InsiderLouisville.com. In his 25 years as a professional writer, he has won numerous journalism awards and is author of Louisville Beer: Derby City History on Draft (2014).

Secret Louisville: A Guide to the Weird, Wonderful, and Obscure Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781681060712
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Reedy Press - March 30th, 2017

Where would you find a professional recording studio that doubles as a funeral parlor? That would be Louisville. Or a hidden set of steps that connects two key parts of an historic neighborhood? Also Louisville. Or even the last ruins of a once-elite neighborhood of mansions owned by New Orleans millionaires? That would be Louisville as well.


100 Things to Do in Louisville Before You Die Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781681060316
Availability: The book is not currently in stock at our stores. Please call us for price and availability.
Published: Reedy Press - April 1st, 2016

Event Term: 

Leesa Cross-Smith

Event date: 
Thursday, March 8, 2018 - 7:00pm
2720 Frankfort Ave
Louisville, KY 40206

A PEN Open Book Award Nominee, Leesa Cross-Smith has been a finalist for the Flannery O’Connor Award for Short Fiction and Iowa Short Fiction Award. She is the author of the short story collection Every Kiss a War and lives in Louisville, KY. Please join us for a reading and book signing!

Whiskey & Ribbons Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781938235382
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now.
Published: Hub City Press - March 8th, 2018

Set in contemporary Louisville, Leesa Cross-Smith's mesmerizing first novel surrounding the death of a police officer is a requiem for marriage, friendship and family, from an author Roxane Gay has called "a consummate storyteller."

Evi--a classically-trained ballerina--was nine months pregnant when her husband Eamon was killed in the line of duty on a steamy morning in July.


Event Term: 

Kimmery Martin

Event date: 
Thursday, February 15, 2018 - 7:00pm
2720 Frankfort Ave
Louisville, KY 40206

 

Kimmery Martin is an emergency medicine doctor, born and raised in the mountains of Eastern Kentucky. A lifelong literary nerd, she reviews books, interviews authors, and works extensively with the library foundation in Charlotte, North Carolina, where she resides with her husband and three young children. The Queen of Hearts is her first novel. Please join us a reading and book signing!

The Queen of Hearts Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780399585050
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now.
Published: Berkley Books - February 13th, 2018

A debut novel set against a background of hospital rounds and life-or-death decisions that pulses with humor and empathy and explores the heart's capacity for forgiveness...


Event Term: 

Katie Walker

Event date: 
Thursday, February 22, 2018 - 7:00pm
2720 Frankfort Ave
Louisville, KY 40206

Take care of your taste buds, your wallet, and your health by prepping and cooking your way to healthy eating every day of the week with a cookbook designed with just one (or two) diners in mind!

Louisville native, Katie Walker, formerly the food and sustainability editor at Organic Gardening magazine, is a writer, editor, and communications specialist living in the Philadelphia area. Please join us for a book launch and signing!

Women's Health Healthy Meals for One (or Two) Cookbook: A Simple Guide to Shopping, Prepping, and Cooking for Yourself with 175 Nutritious Recipes Cover Image
$21.99
ISBN: 9781635650853
Availability: Not currently on our shelves, but available in 1-3 days.
Published: Rodale Books - January 23rd, 2018

Take care of your taste buds, your wallet, and your health by prepping and cooking your way to healthy eating every day of the week with a cookbook designed with just one (or two) diners in mind


Event Term: 

Tracee de Hahn

Event date: 
Thursday, February 8, 2018 - 7:00pm
2720 Frankfort Ave
Louisville, KY 40206

Tracee de Hahn completed degrees in architecture and European history at the University of Kentucky and then lived in Europe, including several years in Switzerland. She currently lives in Virginia with her husband, a Swiss architect, and their Jack Russell Terriers. This is her second novel, following “Swiss Vendetta”. Please join us for a reading and book signing!

A Well-Timed Murder: An Agnes Luthi Mystery Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781250110015
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now.
Published: Minotaur Books - February 6th, 2018

"A true page turner...I found the plot fascinating, and de Hahn builds the tension and suspense perfectly to a satisfying conclusion. I was left wanting to read more about Agnes, and I am looking forward to her next adventure "--Charles Todd on Swiss Vendetta


Event Term: 

Kiki Petrosino

Event date: 
Thursday, January 18, 2018 - 7:00pm
2720 Frankfort Ave
Louisville, KY 40206

Kiki Petrosino is the author of three books of poetry: Witch Wife (2017), Hymn for the Black Terrific (2013) and Fort Red Border.

Her poems and essays have appeared in Best American Poetry, The New York Times, FENCE, Tin House, and Ploughshares. She is founder and co-editor of Transom, an independent online poetry journal. She directs the creative writing program at the University of Louisville.

Please join us for a reading and book signing celebrating her newest poetry collection.

Witch Wife Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781946448033
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Sarabande Books - December 12th, 2017

"Petrosino delights in unsettling the familiar with startling results, whether channeling Anne Sexton or William Blake. Her stylish innovation refashions traditional forms that insist on repetition." --Harryette Mullin


Black Genealogy: Poems Cover Image
By Kiki Petrosino, Lauren Haldeman (Illustrator)
$12.95
ISBN: 9781942083733
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Brain Mill Press - September 25th, 2017

At a literal crossroads in the South, there are two speakers in these poems -- the descendant, who has traveled here to try to find her ancestors in the archives, records, and receipts of their violent and near-unrecorded history, and the ancestors, who are alternately bemused, angry, and tender with their descendant.


Event Term: 

Amanda Driscoll

Event date: 
Sunday, January 14, 2018 - 2:00pm
2720 Frankfort Ave
Louisville, KY 40206

Amanda Driscoll is a graphic designer and has been an artist in one form or another her entire life. She is also the author and illustrator of "Duncan the Story Dragon", which Kirkus declared is “likely to be a storytime hit,” and "Wally Does Not Want a Haircut". Amanda lives outside of Louisville with her two children and two dogs. Please join us to celebrate the release of her newest book, "Klondike Do Not Eat Those Cupcakes!".

Klondike, Do Not Eat Those Cupcakes! Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781524713164
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers - January 9th, 2018

Join a hungry seal as he attempts the impossible task of waiting until his sister's party to eat a delicious birthday cupcake in this hilarious picture book that's perfect for fans of The Bear Ate Your Sandwich.

What's the one thing you could say to make birthday cupcakes even more delicious to Klondike? Tell Klondike not to eat them


Event Term: 

Olivia Cole

Event date: 
Thursday, January 11, 2018 - 7:00pm
2720 Frankfort Ave
Louisville, KY 40207

Olivia A. Cole is an author, a blogger, and a poet. Her other books include "Panther in the Hive" and its sequel, "The Rooster's Garden". Olivia was born in Louisville, KY and wandered to Chicago and Miami before going back home. Please join us for a reading and book signing of her newest book!

A Conspiracy of Stars Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062644213
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - January 2nd, 2018

Enter the vivid and cinematic world of Faloiv in the first book of this dazzling YA sci-fi/fantasy series, perfect for fans of Carve the Mark, Red Rising, and These Broken Stars.


Event Term: 

Carmichael's Community Book Club - March

Event date: 
Tuesday, March 27, 2018 - 7:00pm
2720 Frankfort Ave
Louisville, KY 40206

This weather has us all discombobulated here at the bookstore, summer is spring and fall is summer, and it is hard to tell which end is up anymore. In the spirit of lack of pattern, this reading list is all over the map. Drawing from several genres and with no consistent theme, this winter and early spring will be sure to keep you on your toes! Book club meets the last Tuesday of each month at 7pm at our Frankfort Ave. location. 

Coming to My Senses: The Making of a Counterculture Cook Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780307718280
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Clarkson Potter Publishers - September 5th, 2017

The New York Times bestselling and critically acclaimed memoir from cultural icon and culinary standard bearer Alice Waters recalls the circuitous road and tumultuous times leading to the opening of what is arguably America's most influential restaurant.


Event Term: 

Carmichael's Community Book Club - February

Event date: 
Tuesday, February 27, 2018 - 7:00pm
2720 Frankfort Ave
Louisville, KY 40206

 

Founded in October 2014, Carmichael's Community Book Club was formed by the people and for the people. We select books quarterly reading the best titles around. Meetings are the last Tuesday of every month at 7pm. We do not meet November and December. Our club has over 20 members and we are growing daily! Come for one book or join us for all of our meetings. We provide a venue, a facillitated book discussion and refreshments. For more information about book club contact us at info@carmichaelsbookstore.com or stop into the store.

Staff Pick Logo
Milk and Honey Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781449474256
Availability: On Our Shelves Now, Please Click Through for Each Location's Stock
Published: Andrews McMeel Publishing - October 6th, 2015

#1 New York Times bestseller Milk and Honey is a collection of poetry and prose about survival. About the experience of violence, abuse, love, loss, and femininity.


Event Term: 

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Author Event