1295 Bardstown Rd. | 2720 Frankfort Ave. | 1313 Bardstown Rd.

King Jack and the Dragon (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
King Jack and the Dragon Cover Image
By Peter Bently, Helen Oxenbury (Illustrator)
$17.99
Not currently on our shelves, but available in 1-3 days.

Staff Reviews


King Jack has an incredible day of make-believe defending his fort from dragons...until the giants come to take his friend Zack home. Helen Oxenbury's sweet illustrations of baby Caspar imitating the big kids get it just right, every time.

— From Melissa's Picks

Description


A lively playtime adventure that becomes a warm and cozy bedtime book--perfect for every little knight-in-training. From the illustrator of the award-winning We're Going on a Bear Hunt.

Night is falling and playtime is nearly over. But brave King Jack and his faithful knights Zak and Caspar are still protecting their castle fort from fierce dragons and terrible beasts. This captivating, joyful make-believe adventure is the perfect bedtime story for brave children everywhere. Fans of Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site and Dinosaur Roar will especially enjoy this imaginative tale.

An ALA Notable Book
Bank Street Book Committee Best Children's Books of the Year
Kate Greenaway Award

"It's an enchanting tribute to both full-throttle pretend play and the reassurance of a parent's embrace."--Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"A tale of make-believe that children will delight in hearing again and again."--School Library Journal (starred review)

"Sure to be read aloud again and again, this testament to imaginative play exudes warmth."--Kirkus Reviews

About the Author


Peter Bently lives in Devon, England, with his wife and their two children. Helen Oxenbury, the New York Times bestselling illustrator of Ten Little Fingers, Ten Little Toes and We're Going on a Bear Hunt, lives with her husband, the illustrator John Burningham, in North London, England.

Praise For…


“At once contemporary and classic.”
-The New York Times

“Though the characters are wholly modern, there is a timelessness to the cycle of excitement, apprehension and parental comfort that should give this lovely book a long stay on the nursery shelf.”
-The Wall Street Journal

* “It’s an enchanting tribute to both full-throttle pretend play and the reassurance of a parent’s embrace.”
-Publishers Weekly, starred review

* “A tale of make-believe that children will delight in hearing again and again.”
-School Library Journal, starred review

“The rhyming verse, large trim size, and detailed illustrations…make this a suitable story for group sharing, while the sweet, intimate tone will make it a family favorite.”
-Booklist

“From this simple premise of imaginative play, Bently and Oxenbury create a classically sweet picture book.”
-Horn Book

“This one is sure to become a full-on family favorite at bedtime.”
-The Washington Post

“Altogether, ‘King Jack’ is just about perfect.”
-The Sacramento Bee

Product Details
ISBN: 9780803736986
ISBN-10: 0803736983
Publisher: Dial Books
Publication Date: August 18th, 2011
Pages: 32
Language: English